Dem Leaders Split Over Heated Committee Chair Race

12/19/2008 05:12 am ET | Updated May 25, 2011

The top two Democratic leaders in the House are expected to vote for different lawmakers to lead the Energy and Commerce Committee in the next Congress.

Both House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-Md.) have taken neutral public stances in the high-profile contest between Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman John Dingell (D-Mich.) and his challenger, Oversight and Government Reform Committee Chairman Henry Waxman (D-Calif.).

But lawmakers, aides and lobbyists following the race believe that Pelosi will vote for Waxman and Hoyer will back Dingell when the vote takes place later this week.

Read more on The Hill

Suggest a correction