High-Speed Rail Routes That Could Get Upgrades (MAP)

05/18/2009 05:12 am ET | Updated May 25, 2011

WASHINGTON -- President Barack Obama on Thursday outlined plans for a high-speed rail network he said would change the way Americans travel, drawing comparisons to the 1950s creation of the interstate highway system.

Initially, regional transportation offices will compete for the $8 billion included in the $787 billion economic stimulus spending package for high-speed rail, bolstered by $1 billion a year for five years requested in the federal budget.

Ten corridors the Obama administration had identified for possible high-speed rail projects:

California corridor (Bay Area, Sacramento, Los Angeles, San Diego)

Pacific Northwest corridor (Eugene, Portland, Tacoma, Seattle, Vancouver British Columbia)

South Central corridor (Tulsa, Oklahoma City, Dallas/Fort Worth, Austin, San Antonio, Little Rock)

Gulf Coast corridor (Houston, New Orleans, Mobile, Birmingham, Atlanta)

Chicago hub network (Chicago, Milwaukee, Twin Cities, St. Louis, Kansas City, Detroit, Toledo, Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati, Indianapolis, Louisville)

Florida corridor (Orlando, Tampa, Miami)

Southeast corridor (Washington, Richmond, Raleigh, Charlotte, Atlanta, Macon, Columbia, Savannah, Jacksonville)

Keystone corridor (Philadelphia, Harrisburg, Pittsburgh)

Empire corridor (New York City, Albany, Buffalo)

Northern New England corridor (Boston, Montreal, Portland, Springfield, New Haven, Albany)