iOS app Android app More

How To Delete Your Facebook Account: Instructions On Quitting Facebook

First Posted: 05/15/10 01:16 PM ET Updated: 05/25/11 05:30 PM ET

How To Delete Facebook Account
Frustrated with Facebook? Here's how to delete your account.

In response to Facebook's latest changes and more permissive (and complex) privacy policy, users are speaking out.

Some are planning a Facebook Protest, while others are organizing a mass exodus from the site, deeming May 31 "Quit Facebook Day."

Search queries like "How do I delete my Facebook account?" and "how to delete Facebook account" have soared in popularity.

If you're wondering how to delete your Facebook account, here's a quick guide.

There is an unofficial Facebook group called "How to permanently delete your Facebook account" with step-by-step instructions. In short, you should go to http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account, click submit, then wait two weeks for your account to be deactivated. Logging in to Facebook before the two weeks are up will void the deletion request.

There's also the less drastic option of simply deactiving your Facebook account, which puts it on a sort of "temporary hiatus."

The Telegraph walks users through the steps:

Deactivating an account is fairly simple: when you're logged in to Facebook, click on the Account tab on the top right-hand side of the page. From the drop-down list, select "Account Settings". The final option on the page is "Deactivate" - click on the link to be taken through to the deactivation page. Facebook tries to tempt you in to reconsidering, telling you that your friends "will no longer be able to keep in touch with you"; it also asks you to say why you are deactivating your account. At the foot of the page is box that allows you to opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook - if you do not tick this box, then you will continue to receive email notifications every time a former Facebook friend tags you in a photo, invites you to an event, or asks you to join a group. Ticking the box means you will no longer receive these messages.

Alternately, if you want to stay on Facebook but are concerned about what information you're sharing, check out our two minute, must-see guide on how to protect your privacy on Facebook.

FOLLOW HUFFPOST TECH

Filed by Bianca Bosker  |