Huffpost Books

Roald Dahl Funny Prize Goes To Louise Rennison

Posted: Updated:

The prize was set up two years ago by the author Michael Rosen as part of his children's laureateship, and seeks to celebrate the books that make children laugh. As well as the seven-to-14 prize, it also recognises books in a six-and-under category, this year won by Louise Yates with the picturebook Dog Loves Books, about a dog who loves books so much he opens a bookshop. Yates, who said that she was inspired to become an illustrator by Quentin Blake, also beat her hero, who was in the running in the younger category with Angelica Sprocket's Pockets.

Read the whole story at

Around the Web

Dog and teenage girl tales win Dahl Funny Prize

RSC gives Roald Dahl's "Matilda" musical makeover

Judging the Roald Dahl Funny Prize