iOS app Android app More

Equatorial Guinea Handball: Obvious Handball In Women's World Cup Goes Uncalled (VIDEO)


First Posted: 07/04/11 02:13 PM ET Updated: 09/03/11 06:12 AM ET

This will certainly go down as one of the worst referee gaffes of all time.

In the 16th minute of Equatorial Guinea's 3-2 loss to Australia in the Women's World Cup on Sunday, Leena Khamis took a shot that went off the post and landed right in front of Equatorial Guinea's Bruna Amarante da Silva. All of a sudden, Bruna grabbed the ball with both hands and quickly dropped it. The Australian players shouted for for the handball call, but the referees inexplicably missed it.

After the match, Hungarian referee Gyoengyi Gaal apologized to FIFA for missing the handball.

WATCH VIDEO AT THE TOP

FOLLOW HUFFPOST SPORTS

Filed by Michael Klopman  |  Report Corrections