Huffpost Denver

Minnesota Duluth, Colorado College, Denver, Nebraska-Omaha, And North Dakota Form National Collegiate Hockey Association

Posted: Updated:

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (AP) -- Six of the top college hockey programs will become the National Collegiate Hockey Conference at the start of the 2013-14 season.


The Denver Post reports the new hockey conference will be headquartered in Colorado Springs in a building near the Broadmoor.


NCAA champion Minnesota Duluth, Colorado College, Denver, Nebraska-Omaha and North Dakota of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association will join current Central Collegiate Hockey Association member Miami of Ohio, the schools announced Wednesday.

The priorities for the conference include hiring a commissioner and adding new members. North Dakota athletic director Brian Faison says the league is interested adding Notre Dame and there have been conversations with the school.