Huffpost Politics

Russell Pearce Announces Run For State Senate After Recall

Posted: Updated:

Several months after an embarrassing recall and defeat by another Republican, former Arizona state Senate President Russell Pearce is giving elected office another try.

The controversial architect of the state immigration law S.B. 1070 is running for election to the state senate, he told supporters on Monday.

"I know my duty," Pearce said, according to the Arizona Republic. "It's been a nice vacation, but it's time to go back to work. We have a sacred duty to this land."

Pearce lost his seat in November 2011 to Jerry Lewis, who is also Mormon and a Republican. Democrats and Republicans in the state worked together to collect more than 10,000 signatures to oust Pearce, taking aim at S.B. 1070 and allegations of illegal campaign donations by the then-lawmaker.

This year, though, Lewis won't be an issue. Due to redistricting, Lewis now represents a new district. Pearce will be up against Republican state Sen. Rich Crandall, who held on to his seat in 2010 despite a Tea Party challenge.

Pearce has already regained some standing in the state Republican party: He was elected vice chairman earlier this year.

Before Pearce's 2011 recall, fellow immigration hardliner Sheriff Joe Arpaio said the senator could come back.

"He's a fighter," Arpaio said. "If he does lose, there's another election next year."

Around the Web

Russell Pearce : Pictures, Videos, Breaking News

Recalled Ariz. senator announces run for new seat

  Obama Romney
Obama Romney
332 206
Obama leading
Obama won
Romney leading
Romney won
Popular Vote
33 out of 100 seats are up for election. 51 are needed for a majority.
Democrat leading
Democrat won
Republican leading
Republican won
Democrats* Republicans
Current Senate 53 47
Seats gained or lost +2 -2
New Total 55 45
* Includes two independent senators expected to caucus with the Democrats: Angus King (Maine) and Sen. Bernie Sanders (Vt.).
All 435 seats are up for election. 218 are needed for a majority.
Democrat leading
Democrat won
Republican leading
Republican won
Democrats Republicans
Seats won 201 234
Click for Full Results
Register To Vote