Huffpost Media

Dateline Airs 20th Anniversary Special May 22

Posted: Updated:
NBC News
NBC News

"Dateline" is celebrating its 20th anniversary with a special edition on Tuesday night.

The show will feature Jane Pauley, Matt Lauer, Tom Brokaw, Ann Curry and Hoda Kotb revisiting some of the series' most memorable stories. Pauley will interview Michael J. Fox, Brokaw will profile Aron Ralston, the climber who was forced to amputate his own arm, and Ann Curry will meet with the McCaughey septuplets, who first appeared on “Dateline" in 1997.

Correspondents Chris Hansen, Hoda Kotb, Josh Mankiewicz, Keith Morrison and Dennis Murphy will also contribute highlights.

Each host chose their favorite story, according to Lester Holt, who will host the special.

“I just saw it and it’s jaw-dropping,” he told the New York Daily News. “You don’t realize the breadth of stories ‘Dateline’ has covered until you see this. You’ll gets tears, chills, gasps, laughter... everything.”

"Dateline" premiered in 1992 with Pauley and Stone Phillips as co-anchors. The primetime special airs on Tuesday, May 22 at 10p/9c.

Related on HuffPost:

Faces of NBC News
Share this
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

DATELINE Presents 20th Anniversary Special Tonight, 5/22

Pauley, Lauer, Brokaw help 'Dateline' mark 20th year

Carrie Underwood to be featured on “Dateline” 20th anniversary special Tuesday

Carrie Underwood to Appear on 'Dateline' Anniversary Special Tonight

Mistaken Identity: Whitney Cerak story on 'NBC Dateline' special Tues.

NBC News Celebrates 20 Years of 'Dateline'