Huffpost Miami

Dwarves, Drunks And Horses: Odd Facts About The Strange Foundings Of 10 Miami-Dade Towns

Posted: Updated:
Flickr: colros
Flickr: colros

To the rest of the world, everything in Miami-Dade County is known as simply "Miami," but the actual City of Miami is one of the smallest main municipalities of a major American metro area by both size and population. That's because historically the area has a flare for incorporating new towns and cities for any odd reason (a temporary ban on incorporating new municipalities was recently lifted, by the way), and some of the 35 separate municipalities within the county have some truly bizarre backstories. Flickr photo by Sandra Cohen-Rose and Colin Rose.

Read the whole story at Miami New Times