Huffpost Politics

Linda McMahon Skipping The Republican National Convention

Posted: Updated:

Former professional wrestling executive Linda McMahon is joining other Republicans in competitive Senate races and skipping the Republican National Convention in August.

"Our focus is going to be on campaigning in Connecticut," said McMahon campaign spokeswoman Kate Duffy.

McMahon is not yet the GOP nominee; she still needs to beat former Rep. Chris Shays in a primary on Aug. 14. A recent poll of statewide Republicans gave her a 29 point lead over Shays.

Shays is a delegate for Connecticut, however, so he plans to attend the convention whether or not he wins the nomination.

Sen. Dean Heller (R-Nev.) also said he may skip the convention, unless he's offered a high-profile speaking role at the event.

"If they want us to speak, we'll probably be there," Heller said. "If they don't choose for us to get a good speaking position, we'll probably stay here and campaign."

Rep. Denny Rehberg (R-Mont.) and George Allen -- who is running for Senate in Virginia -- are also both planning to skip the GOP convention in Tampa, Fla.

A handful of Democrats have also said they won't be going to their convention, including Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.) and much of West Virginia's delegation.

Around the Web

Ex-wrestling CEO McMahon makes another Senate bid

Campaign Notebook: McMahon Focus of National Media Profile

McMahon's Message Is That She's Not Taking Questions

Linda McMahon's spokeswoman leaving campaign 6 weeks before primary

  Obama Romney
Obama Romney
332 206
Obama leading
Obama won
Romney leading
Romney won
Popular Vote
33 out of 100 seats are up for election. 51 are needed for a majority.
Democrat leading
Democrat won
Republican leading
Republican won
Democrats* Republicans
Current Senate 53 47
Seats gained or lost +2 -2
New Total 55 45
* Includes two independent senators expected to caucus with the Democrats: Angus King (Maine) and Sen. Bernie Sanders (Vt.).
All 435 seats are up for election. 218 are needed for a majority.
Democrat leading
Democrat won
Republican leading
Republican won
Democrats Republicans
Seats won 201 234
Click for Full Results
Register To Vote