National Endowment For The Arts Announces Jazz Masters For 2013 (AUDIO)

07/18/2012 04:34 pm ET

Since 1982, The National Endowment for the Arts has been awarding fellowships to a small cluster of jazz musicians (as well as jazz scholars, critics, managers, and club owners) recognizing “that this magnificent art form, so profoundly based in American culture, is one of America’s greatest gifts to the world.” Today the NEA announced four 'NEA Jazz Masters' for 2013: pianist/vocalist/composer Mose Allison, saxophonist Lou Donaldson, pianist/arranger/composer Eddie Palmieri and 'Village Vanguard' jazz club owner Lorraine Gordon. All four recipients are Jazz living legends and have shaped the genre as a whole.

Those honored receive a $25,000 grant and perform in a concert and ceremony for the awardees at Jazz at Lincoln Center. Previous recipients include Miles Davis (1984), Ella Fitzgerald (1985) and Herbie Hancock (2004).

In 2011, it was announced that due to budget cuts, the 'NEA Jazz Masters award' would be eliminated, but thankfully, that didn't come to bear. Cheers to another year celebrating America's Jazz Masters!

Listen below for a few of the musicians most popular tracks.

Suggest a correction