For the first time in 16 years, Soundgarden will release a new album. According to, the band announced that King Animal will hit stores on Nov. 13. The record's first single, "Been Away Too Long," is set for release at the end of September.

Of course, King Animal is just the latest step on the comeback trail for Soundgarden. In April, the band released their first single in 15 years, "Live to Rise," as part of the soundtrack to "Marvel's The Avengers." The song was downloaded over 350,000 times during its first week on iTunes.

"It's such a different environment," Chris Cornell, Soundgarden's lead singer, told THR about having a song on the "Avengers" soundtrack. "In this day and age you don't have the monolithic record company with seemingly limitless resources and multimillion-dollar profits. They don't exist. Which is why a partnership like this exists. The movie company does have that, and they will promote it. It's the only way to get your music in front of people."

Either that, or by releasing an album. Soundgarden reunited in 2010 and has released two compilations albums (one retrospective, one live) since then. King Animal will be Soundgarden's first record since 1996's Down on the Upside, which featured such songs as "Pretty Noose," "Blow Up The Outside World," "Burden in my Hand" and "Rhinosaur."

For King Animal's full track list,, head over to

[via Billboard]

Loading Slideshow...
  • 'Black Hole Sun'

    Music video by Soundgarden performing Black Hole Sun. (C) 1994 A&M Records

  • 'Burden In My Hand'

    Music video by Soundgarden performing Burden In My Hand. (C) 1996 A&M Records

  • 'Fell On Black Days'

    Music video by Soundgarden performing Fell On Black Days. (C) 1994 A&M Records

  • 'Rusty Cage'

    Music video by Soundgarden performing Rusty Cage. (C) 1992 A&M Records

  • 'Pretty Noose'

    Music video by Soundgarden performing Pretty Noose. (C) 1996 UMG Recordings, Inc.

  • 'Spoonman'

    Music video by Soundgarden performing Spoonman. (C) 1994 A&M Records

  • 'Blow Up The Outside World'

    Music video by Soundgarden performing Blow Up The Outside World. (C) 1996 A&M Records

Earlier on HuffPost: