"Homeland" took home the Outstanding Drama Series Emmy at the 2012 Academy of Television Arts and Sciences awards in Los Angeles Sunday night.

The cerebral Showtime drama beat out four-time winner "Mad Men," as well as its network companion "Breaking Bad," PBS' "Downton Abbey," and HBO's "Boardwalk Empire" and "Game of Thrones." This marks Showtime's first original series win in either the drama or comedy categories. "Homeland" was also the most-nominated freshman series of the year, leading the pack with nine nominations.

"I want to start by congratulating Showtime on its first Best Series Emmy ever, it's been a long time coming and "Homeland" stands on the shoulders of a lot of great shows over there -- "Dexter," "Weeds" and "Nurse Jackie" among them all," said executive producer Alex Gansa in his acceptance speech. "There are so many people to thank ... The most talented group I have ever worked with, will ever work with ... Our brilliant, brilliant cast led by the incomparable Claire Danes and the irresistible Damian Lewis."

"Homeland" was nominated for nine Emmys and won six. In addition to Outstanding Drama, the series won Outstanding Lead Actor for Damian Lewis, Lead Actress for Claire Danes, Single-Camera Picture Editing and Writing for the Pilot episode, and Casting. The series is also the first to win all three Outstanding Drama, Lead Actor and Lead Actress awards since "Picket Fences" in 1993. "Homeland" returns for its second season next Sunday, September 30 at 10 p.m. ET on Showtime.

Check out our Emmys live blog here for all the latest from the show.

Loading Slideshow...
  • Outstanding Drama Series

    <strong>WINNER: "Homeland"</strong> "Boardwalk Empire" "Breaking Bad" "Downton Abbey" "Game of Thrones" "Mad Men"

  • Outstanding Comedy Series

    <strong>WINNER: "Modern Family"</strong> "The Big Bang Theory" "Curb Your Enthusiasm" "Girls" "30 Rock" "Veep"

  • Outstanding Miniseries Or Movie

    <strong>WINNER: "Game Change"</strong> "American Horror Story" "Hatfields & McCoys" "Hemingway & Gellhorn" "Luther" "Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia (Masterpiece)"

  • Outstanding Lead Actor In A Miniseries Or Movie

    <strong>WINNER: Kevin Costner, "Hatfields & McCoys"</strong> Benedict Cumberbactch, "Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia (Masterpiece" Idris Elba, "Luther" Woody Harrelson, "Game Change" Bill Paxton, "Hatfields & McCoys" Clive Owen, "Hemingway & Gellhorn"

  • Outstanding Lead Actress In A Miniseries Or Movie

    <strong>WINNER: Julianne Moore, "Game Change"</strong> Connie Britton, "American Horror Story" Ashley Judd, "Missing" Nicole Kidman, "Hemingway & Gellhorn" Emma Thompson, "The Song of Lunch (Masterpiece)"

  • Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Miniseries Or Movie

    <strong>WiNNER: Tom Berenger, "Hatfields & McCoys"</strong> Martin Freeman, "Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia (Masterpiece)" Ed Harris, "Game Change" Denis O'Hare, "American Horror Story" David Strathairn, "Hemingway & Gellhorn"

  • Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Miniseries Or Movie

    <strong>WINNER: Jessica Lange, "American Horror Story"</strong> Frances Conroy, "American Horror Story" Jessica Lange, "American Horror Story" Sarah Paulson, "Game Change" Mare Winningham, "Hatfields & McCoys" Judy Davis, "Page Eight (Masterpiece)"

  • Outstanding Variety, Music Or Comedy Series

    <strong>WINNER: "The Daily Show With Jon Stewart"</strong> "The Colbert Report" "Real Time with Bill Maher" "Saturday Night Live" "Jimmy Kimmel Live" "Late Night With Jimmy Fallon"

  • Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series

    <strong>WINNER: Claire Danes, "Homeland"</strong> Kathy Bates, "Harry's Law" Glenn Close, "Damages" Michelle Dockery, "Downton Abbey" Julianna Margulies, "The Good Wife" Elisabeth Moss, "Mad Men"

  • Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series

    <strong>WINNER: Damian Lewis, "Homeland"</strong> Hugh Bonneville, "Downton Abbey" Steve Buscemi, "Boardwalk Empire" Bryan Cranston, "Breaking Bad" Michael C. Hall, "Dexter" Jon Hamm, "Mad Men"

  • Outstanding Guest Actor In A Drama Series

    <strong>WINNER: Jeremy Davies, "Justified"</strong> Dylan Baker, "The Good Wife" Ben Feldman, "Mad Men" Michael J. Fox, "The Good Wife" Mark Margolis, "Breaking Bad" Jason Ritter, "Parenthood"

  • Outstanding Guest Actress In A Drama Series

    <strong>WINNER: Martha Plimpton, "The Good Wife" </strong> Joan Cusack, "Shameless" Loretta Devine, "Grey's Anatomy" Julia Ormond, "Mad Men" Jean Smart, "Harry's Law" Uma Thurman, "Smash"

  • Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama Series

    <strong>WINNER: Maggie Smith, "Downton Abbey"</strong> Anna Gunn, "Breaking Bad" Joanna Froggatt, "Downton Abbey" Archie Panjabi, "The Good Wife" Christine Baranski, "The Good Wife" Christina Hendricks, "Mad Men"

  • Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series

    <strong>WINNER: Aaron Paul, "Breaking Bad" </strong> Giancarlo Esposito, "Breaking Bad" Brendan Coyle, "Downton Abbey" Jim Carter, "Downton Abbey" Peter Dinklage, "Game of Thrones" Jared Harris, "Mad Men"

  • Outstanding Host For A Reality Or Reality-Competition Program

    <strong>WINNER: Tom Bergeron, "Dancing With the Stars"</strong> Cat Deeley, "So You Think You Can Dance" Phil Keoghan, "The Amazing Race" Ryan Seacrest, "American Idol" Betty White, "Betty White's Off Their Rockers"

  • Outstanding Reality - Competition Program

    <strong>WINNER: "The Amazing Race" </strong> "So You Think You Can Dance" "Dancing With the Stars" "Top Chef" "Project Runway" "The Voice"

  • Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy Series

    <strong>WINNER: Julia Louis-Dreyfus, "Veep"</strong> Zooey Deschanel, "New Girl" Lena Dunham, "Girls" Edie Falco, "Nurse Jackie" Tina Fey, "30 Rock" Melissa McCarthy, "Mike and Molly" Amy Poehler, "Parks and Recreation"

  • Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series

    <strong>WINNER: Jon Cryer, "Two and A Half Men"</strong> Alec Baldwin, "30 Rock" Don Cheadle, "House of Lies" Louis CK, "Louie" Larry David, "Curb Your Enthusiasm" Jim Parsons, "The Big Bang Theory"

  • Outstanding Guest Actor In A Comedy Series

    <strong>WINNER: Jimmy Fallon, "Saturday Night Live"</strong> Will Arnett, "30 Rock" Bobby Cannavale, "Nurse Jackie" Michael J. Fox, "Curb Your Enthusiasm" Jon Hamm, "30 Rock" Greg Kinnear, "Modern Family"

  • Outstanding Guest Actress In A Comedy Series

    <strong>WINNER: Kathy Bates, "Two and A Half Men"</strong> Elizabeth Banks, "30 Rock" Margaret Cho, "30 Rock" Dot-Marie Jones, "Glee" Melissa McCarthy, "Saturday Night Live" Maya Rudolph, "Saturday Night Live"

  • Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series

    <strong>WINNER: Julie Bowen, "Modern Family"</strong> Mayim Bialik, "The Big Bang Theory" Kathryn Joosten, "Desperate Housewives" Sofia Vergara, "Modern Family" Merritt Wever, "Nurse Jackie" Kristen Wiig, "Saturday Night Live"

  • Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series

    <strong>Winner: Eric Stonestreet, "Modern Family"</strong> Ed O'Neill, "Modern Family" Jesse Tyler Ferguson, "Modern Family" Ty Burrell, "Modern Family" Max Greenfield, "New Girl" Bill Hader, "Saturday Night Live"

Related on HuffPost: