POLITICS
11/06/2012 09:36 am ET

New Hampshire Election 2012: Swing State Race Goes Down To The Wire In (LIVE UPDATES)

In the New Hampshire election, the race for president is going down to the wire.

President Barack Obama holds a razor-thin lead over Republican nominee Mitt Romney, according to the latest polls. How the contest in the key swing state will end remains to be seen.

Romney came out on top in the New Hampshire GOP presidential primary earlier this year.

Voters in the Granite State will also cast ballots in the race between Democrat Maggie Hassan and Republican Ovide Lamontagne for governor. The latests polls out on the contest show Hassan with a slim lead going into Decision Day.

Via The Green Papers, here are the details on when the polls open and close in New Hampshire:

Polling hours 6:00a EST (1100 UTC) to 8:00p EST (0100 UTC). Polls must open by 11 AM however most open between 7 AM and 8 AM. NEW HAMPSHIRE permits its 13 cities to keep their polls open until 8 PM Eastern Time by local option- however, as there ARE only 13 cities among New Hampshire's 234 County subdivisions [the 221 "non-cities", of course, being the proverbial New England Town(ship)], the fact is that the vast majority of NH's polls have closed by 7 PM Eastern Time and the networks have no problem considering this hour as the earliest hour of potential projection.

Check out where the presidential polls stand in key swing states below. Scroll down for live blog updates on the latest news to unfold on Election Day.

PHOTO GALLERIES
2012 Swing State Polls

Subscribe to the Politics email.
How will Trump’s administration impact you?

CONVERSATIONS