Rep. Jo Ann Emerson (R-Mo.) will retire from Congress in February, the Southeast Missourian reported Monday.

The moderate congresswoman, who was elected to her 10th term in the U.S. House of Representatives last month, is leaving office to become the CEO and president of National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, an organization that represents private, not-for-profit electric utilities.

Emerson sits on the House Committee on Appropriations and serves as chair of the Financial Services and General Government subcommittee.

Below, Emerson's full statement on her retirement:

"The people of Southern Missouri have entrusted their voice in Congress to me for 16 years. Serving them is a humbling experience, a great honor and a welcome challenge. Our congressional district is big, it is diverse, and it demands practical representation by someone who places us and our home ahead of politics and partisanship. The people of our district demand results, they want us to work together, and they have every right to a representative who works as hard as they do. Every day in Congress, that is my goal.

"I am going to miss the constituents I work with every day, the thousands of small business owners, compassionate families, community leaders, students and servicemembers who define the character of Southern Missouri. My respect for them is boundless, and I will never forget the wonderful friendships I have gained through my service in Congress. The vitality of rural America depends on the hard work and optimism of the people who make their communities special. We are fortunate to have no shortage of that rare quality of American in Southern Missouri. And I plan to stay in Congress as long as I can to ensure the gap in their representation is as brief as possible.

"I am not leaving Congress because I have lost my heart for service -- to the contrary -- I see a new way to serve. I did not go seeking this opportunity, but I am excited about the new challenge it offers to find ways to promote strong rural policy.

"And I would be remiss if I did not also mention the dozens of staff members who have made helping our constituents their vocation. I have always had the very best staff in Congress, and people in Southern Missouri are truly fortunate that some of the best staff members and casework professionals in the country are working hard for them. Over the years, first Bill and then I have taken great pride in creating a strong legacy for Southern Missouri, for making sure Southern Missouri matters in Congress. Our district has earned its reputation for commonsense above all else, and I will leave Congress in February with a heavy heart despite my confidence that Southern Missouri and its standard for leadership will endure."

Also on HuffPost:

Loading Slideshow...
  • Eric Cantor (R-Va.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 112th Congress (2011-present)

  • Steny Hoyer (D-Md.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 110th & 111th Congress (2007-2011)

  • John Boehner (R-Ohio)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 109th Congress (2006-07). Boehner was elected by the Republican conference in Feb. 2006, replacing Roy Blunt. Blunt served as interim Majority Leader after Tom DeLay stepped down in Sept. 2005.

  • Roy Blunt (R-Mo.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 109th Congress (2005-06). Blunt was elected as interim leader in Sept. 2005 after Tom DeLay stepped down.

  • Tom DeLay (R-Texas)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 108th & 109th Congress (2003-05). DeLay stepped aside in September 2005.

  • Dick Armey (R-Texas)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 104th-107th Congress (1995-2005)

  • Dick Gephardt (D-Mo.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 101st-103rd Congress (1989-95). Gephardt was lifted to the role of House Majority Leader in June 1989, when Tom Foley took over the role of Speaker of the House.

  • Thomas Foley (D-Wash.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 100th & 101st Congress (1987-89). Foley was elevated to Speaker of the House in June 1989 after James Wright resigned.

  • James C. Wright Jr. (D-Texas)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 95th-99th Congress (1977-87)

  • Tip O'Neill (D-Mass.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 93rd & 94th Congress (1973-77)

  • Hale Boggs (D-La.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 92nd Congress (1971). Boggs (pictured middle) was presumed dead in an Oct. 1972 plane crash.

  • Carl Albert (D-Okla.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 87th-91st Congress (1962-1971). Albert was elected to the post after John McCormack's Jan. 1962 rise to Speaker of the House.

  • John W. McCormack (D-Mass.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 76th-79th Congress (1940-47), 81st & 82nd Congress (1949-53), and 84th-87th Congress (1955-62). After the death of Sam Rayburn, McCormack was lifted to a new role in Jan. 1962 as Speaker of the House.

  • Charles Halleck (R-Ind.)

    (Pictured center) <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 80th & 83rd Congress (1947-49, 1953-55).

  • Sam Rayburn (D-Texas)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 75th & 76th Congress (1937-40). Elected Speaker of the House in September 1940 after the death of William Bankhead.

  • William Bankhead (D-Ala.)

    (Pictured far right) <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 74th Congress (1935-36). Elected Speaker of the House after the death of Joseph Byrns. According to Congressional records, John J. O'Connor served the final 14 days of Bankhead's term, but was never formally elected.

  • Joseph W. Byrns (D-Tenn.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 73rd Congress (1933-35). In Jan. 1935, Byrns was sworn in as House Speaker.

  • Henry Rainey (D-Ill.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 72nd Congress (1931-33)

  • John Tilson (R-Conn.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 69th-71st Congress (1925-31)

  • Nicholas Longworth (R-Ohio)

    (Back row, 2nd from right) <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 68th Congress (1923-25)

  • Frank Mondell (R-Wyo.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 66th & 67th Congress (1919-23)

  • Claude Kitchin (D-N.C.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 64th & 65th Congress (1915-19)

  • Oscar Underwood (D-Ala.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 62nd & 63rd Congress (1911-15)

  • Sereno Payne (R-N.Y.)

    <a href="">House Majority Leader</a>, 56th-61st Congress (1899-1911)