Steve "Mongo" McMichael is best known as a former defensive tackle for the Chicago bears, but now he wants to be known for as something else: Mayor.

On Wednesday, McMichael filed the formal petitions to become a mayoral candidate in the suburban Romeoville race, according to the Sun-Times.

The former NFL star announced his intention to run back in August, telling ESPN Chicago patrons of the Mongo McMichael's sports bar in Romeoville were the ones who urged him to enter the race.

"They've been mentioning to me that they're not happy, and they want me to run for mayor," McMichael said in August. "And by God, when I came to be a man, I put away childish things, I'm going to do it."

McMichael, a member of the 1986 Super Bowl-winning Bears, is trying to replace incumbent John Noak, reports the Associated Press. The Sun-Times said former Mayor Fred Dewald will also be on the April 9 ballot.

The former Bear describes himself an independent moderate, according to NBC Chicago and said he's running for his 4-year-old daughter; McMichael told NBC he wants to "have a say" in the the village's educational policy.

McMichael is currently a coach with the Professional Indoor Football Team the Chicago Slaughter, based in Hoffman Estates, Ill.

Related on HuffPost:

Loading Slideshow...
  • January 23, 2011 - Green Bay Packers 21, Chicago Bears 14

    NFC Championship

  • November 7, 1999 - Chicago Bears 14, Green Bay Packers 13

    The 'Walter Payton' Block

  • October 31, 1994 - Green Bay Packers 33, Chicago Bears 6

  • December 23, 2007 - Chicago Bears 35, Green Bay Packers 7

  • September 13, 1964 - Green Bay Packers 23, Chicago Bears 12

    Chicago Bears' Hall of Fame tight end <a href="" target="_hplink">Mike Ditka</a> scores a touchdown during the Bears loss to Green Bay. Packers coach Vince Lombardi would later call for a free kick. Kicker Paul Hornung attempted a 52-yard field goal <a href=",6731752" target="_hplink">after the Bears' punt</a> just before the end of the first half. The play was extremely rare for the time and successful.

  • November 23, 1986 - Chicago Bears 12, Green Bay Packers 10

  • November 5, 1989 - Green Bay Packers 14, Chicago Bears 13

  • December 22, 2008 - Chicago Bears 20, Green Bay Packers 17

  • November 3, 1985 - Chicago Bears 16, Green Bay Packers 10

  • September 7, 1980 - Green Bay Packers 12, Chicago Bears 6

    After Green Bay Packers kicker Chester Marcol's field goal attempt was blocked, Marcol <a href="" target="_hplink">caught the swatted ball and rushed</a> into the endzone to score a game-winning touchdown.