03/11/2013 04:12 pm ET

National Historic Landmarks: 13 New Sites Dedicated By Ken Salazar (PHOTOS)


On Monday, Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar designated 13 new sites across the United States as National Historic Landmarks.

In a statement, Salazar said:

These national historic landmark designations span more than two centuries of our country’s history, from 17th century architecture to a Civil War battlefield to a 19th century-Kentucky whiskey distillery that continued to operate through the Prohibition era...Today’s designations include significant sites that help tell the story of America and the contributions that all people from all walks of life have made as we strive for a more perfect union.

The sites range from Selma, Alabama's Edmund Pettus Bridge, the scene of 'Bloody Sunday' during the Civil Rights era to Harriet Beecher Stowe's home in Hartford, Connecticut.

Check out the newest inductees in the slideshow below.

National Historic Landmarks 2013
Sign up for our email.
Find out how much you really know about the state of the nation.