Huffpost Politics

Obama Designates New National Monuments In Five States

Posted: Updated:
Getty Images

WASHINGTON -- President Barack Obama has designated five new national monuments, using executive authority to protect historic or ecologically significant sites.

Vice President Joe Biden and Interior Secretary Ken Salazar joined Obama Monday in the Oval Office as he signed five proclamations designating the sites under the Antiquities Act. The ceremony was closed to reporters.

The sites are Rio Grande del Norte National Monument in New Mexico; First State National Monument in Delaware; Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Monument in Maryland; Charles Young Buffalo Soldiers National Monument in Ohio; and San Juan Islands National Monument in Washington state.

Biden has long sought the site in Delaware, his home state and the only state without a national park. Designating the 1,100 acre site is the first step toward creating a national park there.

Also on HuffPost:

Barack Obama's Greatest Hits
Share this
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

Obama to Designate New National Monuments

Obama designates 5 new national monuments in Maryland, Delaware, Ohio, NM ...

President Barack Obama's pen establishes new national monuments; 2 are in ...

News bites: Obama to announce national monuments, greening Apple's data ...

Obama to designate national monuments in Md., Del.; sites include underground ...

San Juans among 5 new national monuments to be named by Obama

Obama will create National Monument in San Juans

President Obama Set To Create National Monument In Washington's San Juan ...