It may not be a top concern for residents of Florida, a state with staggering unemployment and a million uninsured, but a new law just signed by Rick Scott will make some lead-footed state motorists very happy.
Wednesday the Florida governor signed a bill that would make it easier to fine slow drivers traveling in the left-hand lanes.
It is already illegal to drive slower than the "normal speed of traffic" in the left lanes, and is punishable with a $60 ticket. The new law simply outlines just how slow you'd have to be traveling in the left lanes to be cited: slower than 10 mph below the speed limit.
The new law goes into effect on July 1.
The Sun Sentinel points out that the way the "Move Over" law is currently worded, drivers traveling the speed limit could have been ticketed for slowing up left lane drivers trying to speed.
House Bill 7125 also includes a litany of changes to other traffic violations but none address the seemingly most pressing issues on Florida roads: a hit-and-run epidemic, and pedestrian and cyclist safety.
Scott signed HB 7125 as well as three other bills this week before skipping off to Paris.