Huffpost Sports

MLB Umpire Calls Athletics' Seth Smith Out On Second Strike (VIDEO)

Posted: Updated:
Print
MLB.com
MLB.com

By Chris Yuscavage, Complex Sports

Well, this is certainly embarrassing

During the Yankees/Athletics game yesterday—an 18-inning affair that Oakland eventually won with a walk-off single—A's left fielder Seth Smith took a pitch right down the middle in the bottom of the 11th inning that resulted in umpire C.B. Bucknor calling him out.

The only problem?

The count before the pitch was two balls and one strike, meaning Bucknor punched Smith out after just two strikes. He seemed to realize the mistake he made almost immediately and looked pretty embarrassed about it. But this is why people think that MLB umpires don't have a clue.

C'mon, man! It's the bottom of the 11th inning. How does this happen?

RELATED: How Major League Baseball Lost Its Way

[via Yahoo! Sports Minute]

Also on HuffPost:

Close
2013 MLB Season Highlights
of
Share
Tweet
Advertisement
Share this
close
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

 
From Our Partners