Huffpost WorldPost

UNESCO World Heritage Sites: Mount Fuji, Mount Etna Among 19 New Places Honored In 2013

Posted: Updated:
This picture taken on June 16, 2013 shows Mount Fuji, the highest mountain in Japan at 3,776 metres (12,460 feet), and Lake Kawaguchi in Fujikawaguchiko, southern Yamanashi prefecture. (KAZUHIRO NOGI/AFP/Getty Images) | Getty

PARIS, June 24 (Reuters) - The Mount Etna volcano and Italy's Medici Villas were among 19 sites that have been added to UNESCO's World Heritage list of places of "outstanding universal value".

The UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Committee, meeting in the Cambodian capital Phnom Penh for its 37th annual session, added five natural sites and 14 cultural ones on Sunday to its list of global treasures.

Italy's Mount Etna, Europe's largest active volcano, snow-capped Mount Fuji, the highest mountain in Japan at 3,776 metres, and Namibia's Namib Sand Sea all joined the list.

So did the Renaissance Medici Villas and Gardens in Tuscany, Tehran's Golestan Palace, the Hill Forts of Rajasthan in India and the wooden "tserkvas" (churches) of the Carpathian region of Poland and Ukraine.

Also on the list are the remains of a fortress that once surrounded Kaesong, the ancient capital of North Korea, now one of the world's most secretive states.

UNESCO annually inscribes sites on its World Heritage List in recognition of their outstanding universal value to humanity and to encourage citizens and states to preserve them for future generations. A country may also receive advice and financial support from UNESCO to preserve a World Heritage site.

(Reporting by Natalie Huet; Editing by Michael Roddy)

Check out the new additions to the UNESCO World Heritage List below:

New Additions To The UNESCO World Heritage List
Share this
Current Slide

Around the Web

UNESCO World Heritage Centre - News

New World Heritage Sites 2013, Round 2 - SFGate

Potential 2013 UNESCO World Heritage Sites -

New UNESCO World Heritage Sites for 2013 - Telegraph

Pictures: 5 New World Heritage Sites - National Geographic News

New UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO adds 19 sites to World Heritage List