In the top of the sixth inning, the first pitch thrown to Midland's Vinnie Catricala appeared to be outside but it was called a strike. Catricala began to argue and then stepped outside of the batter's box. As he stood there, the umpire called two more strikes. According to Crawfish Boxes, it took 9.4 seconds for Catricala to get ejected.
This is what the Box Score says:
- Vinnie Catricala strikes out on an automatic strike. One out.
- On-field delay.
- Midland RockHounds third baseman Vinnie Catricala ejected by HP umpire Ron Teague.
How is such a strikeout possible? Rule 6.02 (c) of MLB's official rulebook states:
If the batter refuses to take his position in the batters box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out.
On the other side, Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano seemed happy to be a part of the bizarre play.
Tonight I might have made history with a "One Pitch Strikeout". I'll take it haha!!!
— Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013
(H/T to Big League Stew)
Also on HuffPost:
The Morning Email helps you start your workday with everything you need to know: breaking news, entertainment and a dash of fun. Learn more