08/15/2013 04:24 pm ET

'Beatles Reimagined' To Feature Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros On 50th-Anniversary Tribute Album


The Beatles will receive a special 50th-anniversary treatment from Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros and a handful of up-and-coming bands on "Beatles Reimagined," an album that spotlights the band's 1963-64 music.

“The Beatles are the band I think of the most when I’m considering if the music I'm making is good enough," Edward Sharpe frontman Alex Ebert said in a press release from Community Music, the label releasing the effort.

Slated for an Oct. 1 release, a portion of the album's profits will go toward music and youth charities. The project intends for none of the tracks to sound like Beatles covers, instead using emerging indie-rock acts to create new versions of the classics.

The album comes primarily in response to Paul McCartney's Grammy performance, after which music executive Owen Husney said Twitter was awash with clueless youngins who had no idea who the former Beatle was. Husney teamed with Community Music in hopes of bringing the Fab Four's music to younger audiences.

Check out the tracklist below:
1. “All My Loving” – The Well Pennies
2. “From Me To You” – Mobley
3. “Misery” – Feverbody
4. “I Saw Her Standing There” – Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros
5. “I Wanna Be Your Man” – Night Panther
6. “I Feel Fine” – Jhameel
7. “There’s A Place” – Leftover Cuties
8. “She Loves You” – Badwolf
9. “Please Please Me” – Adventure Galley
10. “And I Love Her” – Doom & Gloom

Watch Adventure Gallery discuss their approach to remaking "Please Please Me":

Rare Beatles Photos
Rare Beatles Photos