Huffpost Books

Maya Angelou And Junot Díaz To Receive Mailer Prizes

Posted: Updated:

NEW YORK — Maya Angelou (MEYE'-uh AN'-juh-loh) is receiving another honorary prize for writing.

The Norman Mailer Center and Writers Colony announced Thursday that Angelou will be given a lifetime achievement award at a benefit gala Oct. 17. Earlier this month, the National Book Foundation announced that the 85-year-old Angelou would be given an honorary National Book Award, her first major literary prize.

The Mailer Center will also give a distinguished writing prize to Junot Diaz and an award for the best emerging journalist to the late Michael Hastings. Hastings was killed in an auto accident in June at age 33. He's best known for a Rolling Stone article that led to the resignation of the U.S. commander in Afghanistan, Gen. Stanley McChrystal.

Around the Web

Maya Angelou, Junot Diaz to receive Mailer prizes

Norman Mailer Is Going Digital

Norman Mailer's New and Old Book Covers Battle for Supremacy

Will Forte goes the extra mile with 'Nebraska'

Philip Roth inspired my very feminist sex life