Umpires Dana DeMuth's Blown Call Overturned But Cardinals Can't Undo Pete Kozma's Error (VIDEO)

10/23/2013 10:00 pm ET | Updated Oct 24, 2013

The World Series umpiring crew had the chance to fix a mistake made by second base umpire Dana DeMuth early in Game 1. Unfortunately for the St. Louis Cardinals, no one could undo the error committed by shortstop Pete Kozma on the same play.

With one away, Dustin Pedroia at first and Jacoby Ellsbury at second for the Red Sox in the home half of the opening frame, David Ortiz redirected a cutter from Adam Wainwright toward second baseman Matt Carpenter. He fielded and flipped the ball to Kozma at second for a potential inning-ending double play. Then things got interesting -- and incompetent. Second base umpire Dana DeMuth signaled "OUT!' despite Kozma clearly failing to catch the ball from Carpenter.

GIF: This Is Not An Out

GIF: here's the called out that umpires huddled and (cor... on Twitpic

(GIF via @BuzzFeedSports)

At the behest of Red Sox manager John Farrell, the umpires -- led by crew chief John Hirschbeck -- got together on the field and eventually overturned the incorrect call, briefly quieting the calls for the immediate introduction of robot umps on Twitter. As a result, Kozma was charged with an error and all the Boston runners were safe. With the bases loaded, Red Sox first baseman Mike Napoli promptly hit a bases-clearing double to stake the Red Sox to an early 3-0 lead.

Also on HuffPost:

2013 MLB Season Highlights
Suggest a correction