SPORTS
12/09/2013 07:43 am ET

Refs Reverse Call, Give BenJarvus Green-Ellis Controversial Touchdown In Bengals-Colts Game (VIDEO)

ASSOCIATED PRESS

There appeared to be another officiating blunder involving referee Jeff Triplette on Sunday when Bengals running back BenJarvus Green-Ellis tried scoring from the 1-yard line on fourth down.

The officials initially ruled that Green-Ellis was down by contact short of the end zone. Replays showed that Colts nose tackle Josh Chapman barely grazed Green-Ellis' foot in the backfield just before he lunged forward for the goal line. As the play was being reviewed, CBS announcers Greg Gumbel and Dan Dierdorf were convinced that the ruling would stand. But that was not the case. The officials reversed the call and ruled the Green-Ellis had reached the end zone untouched.

"Are you kidding me? Are you kidding me? Not touched?" Gumbel said in disbelief.

"Jeff Triplette doesn't think that Chapman hit his foot?" Dierdorf asked.

When asked after the game if Chapman could have touched Green-Ellis, Triplette responded saying that "there was nobody that touched him at the goal line." The Bengals went on to win, 42-28.

The controversial call came just days after the NFL admitted that the officiating crew (including Triplette) made a crucial mistake in the Redskins-Giants game last Sunday night. Gumbel and Dierdorf weren't the only ones who thought he made another mistake in the Bengals-Colts game.

ALSO ON HUFFPOST:

PHOTOS: Snowstorms Hit NFL

CONVERSATIONS