Obama To Announce Investment In 5 'Promise Zones'

Posted: Updated:
(AP Photo/Charles Dharapak) | ASSOCIATED PRESS

WASHINGTON (AP) — President Barack Obama will announce five "Promise Zones" this week as part of his effort to focus on income inequality in the lead-up to his State of the Union address.

Promise Zones are areas where the federal government provides tax incentives and grants to help communities tackle poverty. Obama first announced the initiative during last year's State of the Union speech.

On Thursday, Obama will announce the first Promise Zone locations. They're in San Antonio, Texas; Philadelphia; Los Angeles; southeastern Kentucky and the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma.

The White House says Obama believes investing in and rebuilding economically challenged communities is crucial to helping children have a chance at success.

Also on HuffPost:

Economic Predictions That Were Blatantly Wrong (Or Have Blatantly Yet To Come True)
Share this
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

In Chicago, Policy Speech by Obama Turns Personal - NYTimes.com

Obama to name five "Promise Zones"

Obama to preview anti-poverty proposals

US to designate poor LA areas a 'Promise Zone,' eligible for aid

Does Bitcoin Have a Future in Politics?