ENTERTAINMENT

Bryan Cranston, Best Actor TV Drama Golden Globes 2014

01/12/2014 08:46 pm ET | Updated Jan 23, 2014

Bryan Cranston won the award for Best Actor in a TV Drama for portrayal of Walter White in the final season of AMC's "Breaking Bad." Heralded as one of the finest shows on TV, "Breaking Bad" ended its five-season run with a groundbreaking series finale in September.

Cranston was nominated three other times for this role, but this is his first win. In 2003, he was nominated for a Golden Globe - Best Supporting Actor in a Series, Miniseries or TV Film for his role as Hal in "Malcolm In the Middle."

Cranston beat out Liev Schreiber ("Ray Donovan"), Michael Sheen ("Masters Of Sex"), Kevin Spacey ("House Of Cards") and James Spader ("The Blacklist").

"Such a lovely way to say goodbye to the show that meant so much to me," Cranston said in his acceptance speech, thanking Vince Gilligan, Aaron Paul and his "TV wife" Anna Gunn, among others.

Tina Fey and Amy Poehler hosted the 71st annual Golden Globes, which were held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif. Last year, Damian Lewis won the Golden Globe for his role on Showtime's "Homeland."

01/12/2014 11:30 PM EST

What Better Way To End This Live Blog

Good night, all!

01/12/2014 11:29 PM EST

Ronan Farrow Is Not Happy With Woody Allen

More on Allen's controversial Golden Globes honor here.

01/12/2014 11:00 PM EST

"12 Years A Slave" Wins Best Picture - Drama

It was the only win of the night for "12 Years A Slave," but it was a big one. Steve McQueen's acclaimed drama won Best Picture - Drama, besting "Gravity," "Philomena," "Rush" and "Captain Phillips."

01/12/2014 10:50 PM EST

Matthew McConaughey Wins Best Actor - Drama For "Dallas Buyers Club"

All right, all right, all right.

01/12/2014 10:46 PM EST

Cate Blanchett Wins Best Actress - Drama

A no-brainer.

01/12/2014 10:39 PM EST

"American Hustle" Wins Best Motion Picture - Musical Or Comedy

"American Hustle" wins Best Motion Picture - Musical Or Comedy, besting "The Wolf Of Wall Street," "Her," "Nebraska" and "Inside Llewyn Davis."

01/12/2014 10:28 PM EST

Leonardo DiCaprio Wins Best Actor - Musical Or Comedy For "The Wolf Of Wall Street"

"This is an incredible, incredible honor." DiCaprio, ever classy, thanks his fellow nominees (Christian Bale, Bruce Dern, Oscar Isaac and Joaquin Phoenix) and also Martin Scorsese. "You're a risk taker. You're a visionary."

01/12/2014 10:22 PM EST

"Brooklyn Nine-Nine" Wins Best Comedy At The Golden Globes

The Globes love them some "Brooklyn Nine-Nine," which has been on the air for half a season.

01/12/2014 10:21 PM EST

Alfonso Cuaron Wins Best Director

In a bit of an upset, Alfonso Cuaron won Best Director for "Gravity," besting Steve McQueen, David O. Russell, Paul Greengrass and Alexander Payne.

01/12/2014 10:16 PM EST

Liam Neeson Introduces "Gravity"

","short_text":""},{"id":"44","created":"01/12/2014 7:45 PM EST","title":"Oh, This Is Cute","tweet_link":"44_oh-this-is-cute","entry_text":"

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"43","created":"01/12/2014 7:40 PM EST","title":"Here's Another Photo Of Jennifer Lawrence At The Golden Globes","tweet_link":"43_heres-another-photo-of-jennifer-lawrence-at-the-golden-globes","entry_text":"

\"golden

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"42","created":"01/12/2014 7:38 PM EST","title":"Reese Witherspoon Looks Awesome At The Golden Globes","tweet_link":"42_reese-witherspoon-looks-awesome-at-the-golden-globes","entry_text":"

\"golden

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"41","created":"01/12/2014 7:33 PM EST","title":"Here's Jennifer Lawrence Creeping On Taylor Swift","tweet_link":"41_heres-jennifer-lawrence-creeping-on-taylor-swift","entry_text":"

","short_text":""},{"id":"40","created":"01/12/2014 7:32 PM EST","title":"Jennifer Lawrence Remains Our Queen","tweet_link":"40_jennifer-lawrence-remains-our-queen","entry_text":"

\"I was gonna come in and push you down the stairs!\" Jennifer Lawrence to Taylor Swift

— Vulture (@vulture) 4 years ago

","short_text":"

\"I was gonna come in and push you down the stairs!\" Jennifer Lawrence to Taylor Swift

— Vulture (@vulture) 4 years ago

"},{"id":"39","created":"01/12/2014 7:28 PM EST","title":"Can't Wait To Read Chastain's Facebook Update About This","tweet_link":"39_cant-wait-to-read-chastains-facebook-update-about-this","entry_text":"

On the red carpet with Jennifer Lawrence and Jessica Chastain. #GoldenGlobes http://t.co/qveTP7YDse

— Golden Globe Awards (@goldenglobes) 5 years ago

","short_text":"

On the red carpet with Jennifer Lawrence and Jessica Chastain. #GoldenGlobes http://t.co/qveTP7YDse

— Golden Globe Awards (@goldenglobes) Read More"},{"id":"38","created":"01/12/2014 7:25 PM EST","title":"We're 35 Minutes Away From The Golden Globes!","tweet_link":"38_were-35-minutes-away-from-the-golden-globes","entry_text":"

\"Glob\"

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"37","created":"01/12/2014 7:20 PM EST","title":"Josh Lyman In The House!","tweet_link":"37_josh-lyman-in-the-house","entry_text":"

Oh sure, us white men alllll look the same, don't we RT @michaelroston: Oops http://t.co/kmOGCDV7eH

— Abraham Riesman (@abrahamjoseph) 5 years ago

","short_text":"

Oh sure, us white men alllll look the same, don't we RT @michaelroston: Oops http://t.co/kmOGCDV7eH

— Abraham Riesman (@a...Read More"},{"id":"36","created":"01/12/2014 7:18 PM EST","title":"#Bros","tweet_link":"36_bros","entry_text":"

Two wolves on the prowl at #GoldenGlobes http://t.co/gMB70AWOVB

— Marlow Stern (@MarlowNYC) 4 years ago

","short_text":"

Two wolves on the prowl at #GoldenGlobes http://t.co/gMB70AWOVB

— Marlow Stern (@MarlowNYC) 4 years ago...Read More"},{"id":"35","created":"01/12/2014 7:17 PM EST","title":"Lena Dunham's Face Sums Up The Think Pieces About \"Girls\"","tweet_link":"35_lena-dunhams-face-sums-up-the-think-pieces-about-girls","entry_text":"

\"Lena\"

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"34","created":"01/12/2014 7:13 PM EST","title":"All Right, All Right, All Right!","tweet_link":"34_all-right-all-right-all-right","entry_text":"

\"golden

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"33","created":"01/12/2014 7:08 PM EST","title":"Necessary Press Release From Diddy","tweet_link":"33_necessary-press-release-from-diddy","entry_text":"

\"Hi, happy Globes evening!

Diddy is doing a whole tutorial on Instagram on getting ready for the Globes and has created a hashtag: #diddyglobes. Amazing.\"

","short_text":"

\"Hi, happy Globes evening!

Diddy is doing a whole tutorial on Instagram on getting ready for the Globes and has created a hashtag: #diddyglobes. Amazing.\"

"},{"id":"32","created":"01/12/2014 6:59 PM EST","title":"Here's When Elisabeth Moss Flipped Off The E! Mani Cam","tweet_link":"32_heres-when-elisabeth-moss-flipped-off-the-e-mani-cam","entry_text":"

\"Golden

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"31","created":"01/12/2014 6:56 PM EST","title":"Kerry Washington's At The Golden Globes","tweet_link":"31_kerry-washingtons-at-the-golden-globes","entry_text":"

","short_text":""},{"id":"30","created":"01/12/2014 6:51 PM EST","title":"Hello, Walter White","tweet_link":"30_hello-walter-white","entry_text":"

\"golden

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"29","created":"01/12/2014 6:46 PM EST","title":"Our Hosts For The Evening","tweet_link":"29_our-hosts-for-the-evening","entry_text":"

\"golden

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"28","created":"01/12/2014 6:45 PM EST","title":"Yikes","tweet_link":"28_yikes","entry_text":"

this is in no way a FUN fact http://t.co/uJ9zSVuEwy

— Amanda Lucci (@alucci) 4 years ago

","short_text":"

this is in no way a FUN fact http://t.co/uJ9zSVuEwy

— Amanda Lucci (@alucci) 4 years ago

Read More"},{"id":"27","created":"01/12/2014 6:37 PM EST","title":"June Squibb 4EVA","tweet_link":"27_june-squibb-4eva","entry_text":"

","short_text":""},{"id":"26","created":"01/12/2014 6:36 PM EST","title":"Probably","tweet_link":"26_probably","entry_text":"

If all Steve McQueen's career stood for was that he gave us Lupita Nyong'o, that would honestly be enough.

— Kristopher Tapley (@kristapley) 5 years ago

","short_text":"

If all Steve McQueen's career stood for was that he gave us Lupita Nyong'o, that would honestly be enough.

— Kristopher Tapley (@kristapley) Read More"},{"id":"25","created":"01/12/2014 6:35 PM EST","title":"Lupita Nyong'o, Queen Of The Red Carpet","tweet_link":"25_lupita-nyongo-queen-of-the-red-carpet","entry_text":"

\"golden

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"23","created":"01/12/2014 6:30 PM EST","title":"This Is Adorable","tweet_link":"23_this-is-adorable","entry_text":"

The real Philomena Lee and her daughter Jane at #GoldenGlobes. She's hoping to meet DiCaprio tonight!! http://t.co/yluh2ttyZO

— Jenelle Riley (@jenelleriley) 5 years ago

","short_text":"

The real Philomena Lee and her daughter Jane at #GoldenGlobes. She's hoping to meet DiCaprio tonight!! http://t.co/yluh2ttyZO

— Jenelle Riley (@jenelleriley) Read More"},{"id":"22","created":"01/12/2014 6:25 PM EST","title":"Golden Globes Photos!","tweet_link":"22_golden-globes-photos","entry_text":"

Some great pics of the flooded red carpet and more! Check them out here.

","short_text":"

Some great pics of the flooded red carpet and more! Check them out here.

"},{"id":"21","created":"01/12/2014 6:22 PM EST","title":"Here's A Photo Of Margot Robbie At The Golden Globes","tweet_link":"21_heres-a-photo-of-margot-robbie-at-the-golden-globes","entry_text":"

\"golden

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"20","created":"01/12/2014 6:20 PM EST","title":"This Tweet Will Later Get Turned Into A Full-Page New York Times Ad By The Microwave Association Of America","tweet_link":"20_this-tweet-will-later-get-turned-into-a-fullpage-new-york-times-ad-by-the-microwave-association-of-america","entry_text":"

you all keep fighting about football and the Golden Globes. I'm gonna heat up some leftovers.

— a. o. scott (@aoscott) 3 years ago

","short_text":"

you all keep fighting about football and the Golden Globes. I'm gonna heat up some leftovers.

— a. o. scott (@aoscott) 3 years ago

Read More"},{"id":"19","created":"01/12/2014 6:15 PM EST","title":"More Than Meets The Eye","tweet_link":"19_more-than-meets-the-eye","entry_text":"

Check out some of the best Golden Globes transformations right here.

\"jennifer\"

","short_text":"

Check out some of the best Golden Globes transformations right here.

"},{"id":"18","created":"01/12/2014 6:14 PM EST","title":"This Photo Will Launch 1000 Think Pieces","tweet_link":"18_this-photo-will-launch-1000-think-pieces","entry_text":"

It's @lenadunham on the @goldenglobes #redcarpet! http://t.co/xmS0AuNYow

— Golden Globe Awards (@goldenglobes) 5 years ago

","short_text":"

It's @lenadunham on the @goldenglobes #redcarpet! http://t.co/xmS0AuNYow

— Golden Globe Awards (@goldenglobes) Read More"},{"id":"17","created":"01/12/2014 6:08 PM EST","title":"Here's A Photo Of Mike Tyson At The Golden Globes","tweet_link":"17_heres-a-photo-of-mike-tyson-at-the-golden-globes","entry_text":"

\"golden

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"16","created":"01/12/2014 6:05 PM EST","title":"They Said It","tweet_link":"16_they-said-it","entry_text":"

So Hayden Panettiere is a full two feet shorter than Giuliana Rancic?

— Vulture (@vulture)
4 years ago

","short_text":"

So Hayden Panettiere is a full two feet shorter than Giuliana Rancic?

— Vulture (@vulture) 4 years ago

"},{"id":"15","created":"01/12/2014 6:05 PM EST","title":"Red Carpet Goodness","tweet_link":"15_red-carpet-goodness","entry_text":"

All the best and worst red carpet looks in one place. Head to HuffPost Style for the full rundown.

","short_text":"

All the best and worst red carpet looks in one place. Head to HuffPost Style for the full rundown.

"},{"id":"14","created":"01/12/2014 5:59 PM EST","title":"Love This","tweet_link":"14_love-this","entry_text":"

It's @evilhag Aubrey Plaza on the @goldenglobes #redcarpet! http://t.co/xh63PhOhK6

— Golden Globe Awards (@goldenglobes) 5 years ago

","short_text":"

It's @evilhag Aubrey Plaza on the @goldenglobes #redcarpet! http://t.co/xh63PhOhK6

— Golden Globe Awards (@goldenglobes) Read More"},{"id":"13","created":"01/12/2014 5:58 PM EST","title":"Sprinklergate 2014","tweet_link":"13_sprinklergate-2014","entry_text":"

Fire sprinkler disaster on the Golden Globe Red Carpet! via @Newzysteph http://t.co/pNV98KgQAS

— Sean Browning (@ShootSeanNBCLA) 2 years ago

","short_text":"

Fire sprinkler disaster on the Golden Globe Red Carpet! via @Newzysteph http://t.co/pNV98KgQAS

— Sean Browning (@ShootSeanNBC...Read More"},{"id":"12","created":"01/12/2014 5:54 PM EST","title":"OH In The HuffPost War Room","tweet_link":"12_oh-in-the-huffpost-war-room","entry_text":"

\"Ryan Seacrest, he's so short.\"

\"ryan

","short_text":"

\"Ryan Seacrest, he's so short.\"

"},{"id":"11","created":"01/12/2014 5:52 PM EST","title":"Fox News Called","tweet_link":"11_fox-news-called","entry_text":"

The Golden Globes are flooded. Still feel like denying global climate change, conservatives?

— joereid (@joereid) 5 years ago

","short_text":"

The Golden Globes are flooded. Still feel like denying global climate change, conservatives?

— joereid (@joereid) 5 years ago

Read More"},{"id":"10","created":"01/12/2014 5:51 PM EST","title":"*** CONTROVERSY AT THE GLOBES ***","tweet_link":"10_-controversy-at-the-globes-","entry_text":"

Variety reports sprinkler accident. Hollywood Reporter says sewage pipe. Which?

— Gilbert Cruz (@gilbertcruz) 4 years ago

","short_text":"

Variety reports sprinkler accident. Hollywood Reporter says sewage pipe. Which?

— Gilbert Cruz (@gilbertcruz) 4 years ago

Read More"},{"id":"9","created":"01/12/2014 5:37 PM EST","title":"\"They Stand In The Rain And Say, 'Sh-t, It's Raining!'\"","tweet_link":"9_they-stand-in-the-rain-and-say-sht-its-raining","entry_text":"

More on the great Golden Globes red carpet flood:

\"golden

","short_text":"

More on the great Golden Globes red carpet flood:

"},{"id":"8","created":"01/12/2014 5:08 PM EST","title":"Treat Yo Self","tweet_link":"8_treat-yo-self","entry_text":"

","short_text":"

"}]

Also on HuffPost:

Golden Globes 2014: The WHOLE Red Carpet
Suggest a correction
Comments

CONVERSATIONS