Huffpost Books

Writers Guild Awards 2014 Winners Include 'Her,' 'Captain Phillips'

Posted: Updated:
Print Article
LOS ANGELES, CA - FEBRUARY 01: Writer Spike Jonze accepts the 'Best Original Screenplay' award for 'Her' onstage at the 2014 Writers Guild Awards L.A. Ceremony at J.W. Marriott at L.A. Live on February 1, 2014 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for WGAw) | Alberto E. Rodriguez via Getty Images

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Spike Jonze's "Her" and Billy Ray's "Captain Phillips" have earned top screenplay honors from the Writers Guild of America.

Winning the prize for original screenplay on Saturday was "Her," Jonze's futuristic exploration of a man's relationship with his computer starring Joaquin Phoenix and Scarlett Johansson as the voice of an operating system.

The victor of the guild's adapted screenplay went to Ray for "Captain Phillips," the Somali pirate saga based on the book "A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea" by Richard Phillips and Stephan Talty. The film, nominated for a best picture Oscar, stars Tom Hanks and Barkhad Abdi, a limo driver-turned actor, who earned a supporting actor Oscar nom.

Sarah Polley won the documentary award for "Stories We Tell," a film about her parents and how the filmmaker was the product of an extramarital affair.

The Writer's Guild Awards are Hollywood's final honors before the Academy Awards on March 2.

"Her" has picked up a number of accolades over the course of awards season, including the Golden Globe for best screenplay, Critics' Choice award for best original screenplay, and the AFI award for movie of the year.

Jonze's film is nominated for five Academy Awards, including best original screenplay and best picture. This guild victory gives the computer love tale an edge in the journey to the Oscars.

Among the guild's TV winners:

— Drama series: "Breaking Bad," written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz and Moira Walley-Beckett.

— Comedy series: "Veep," written by Simon Blackwell, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Tony Roche and Will Smith.

— New series: "House of Cards," written by Kate Barnow, Rick Cleveland, Sam Forman, Gina Gionfriddo, Keith Huff, Sarah Treem and Beau Willimon.

Also on HuffPost:

Celebrity News & Photos
Share this
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

2014 Writers Guild Awards Winners Announced

2014 Nominees & Winners - Writers Guild of America, West

WGA Awards 2014: The Winners - The Hollywood Reporter

WGA Awards 2014: The Winners (Updating Live)

WGA Award Winners & More -- 2014 Writers Guild Awards - Deadline

Writers Guild Award Winners 2014 List — 'Breaking Bad' 'Veep ...

2014 Writers Guild of America Award winners - HitFix

2014 Writers Guild Awards Winners - Rotten Tomatoes

WGA Awards: 'Captain Phillips' & …

WGA Awards: The Winners (Updating Live)

WGA Awards 2014: Complete list of winners and nominees

WGA Awards Sets West Coast Presenters

  • PANIC IN A SUITCASE by Yelena Akhtiorskaya

    by Yelena Akhtiorskaya

    Published on July 31st, 2014

    THE HUNDRED-YEAR HOUSE by Rebecca Makkai

    by Rebecca Makkai

    Published on July 10th, 2014

    LAND OF LOVE AND DROWNING by Tiphanie Yanique

    by Tiphanie Yanique

    Published on July 10th, 2014

    CALIFORNIA by Edan Lepucki

    by Edan Lepucki

    Published on July 8th, 2014