If You Lived In Colorado, You Could Legally Buy And Smoke Weed By Now. Here's How.

Posted: Updated:

Curious about legal weed in Colorado, but confused about the new laws and how to best take advantage of them? Well, then according to a new state website launched Thursday, here's everything you need to know about buying, smoking and possessing recreational marijuana in the state, whether you're a tourist or a resident. The website notes that these are just the state laws, and local jurisdictions are allowed to pass their own laws that can be even stricter, so be sure to familiarize yourself with those as well.

Questions and answers appear courtesy of the State of Colorado:

Residents:

How old do I have to be to purchase, possess or consume marijuana?

You must be 21 years old to purchase, possess, or use retail marijuana or marijuana products. It is illegal to give or sell retail marijuana to minors.

Where can I purchase marijuana or other marijuana products?

You can purchase marijuana and related products at licensed retailers approved by the Colorado Department of Revenue and the local municipality. You must present a valid Colorado ID proving you are 21 years old, so be prepared.

How much can I purchase from a marijuana retailer?

Colorado residents 21 years and older can purchase as much as 1 ounce of retail marijuana at a time. Non-residents can purchase 1/4 ounce.

Are there cafes where I can use marijuana like I’ve heard about in Amsterdam?

Not in Colorado. Our laws ban any public use of marijuana products. That includes eating, drinking, vaping or smoking it anywhere the general public can go, which would include any cafes.

Can I smoke or consume pot brownies while in the park with my friends?

Not in Colorado. Again, the law bans all public use of any marijuana product, not just smoking. This means it is illegal to use marijuana in amusement, sporting or music venues, and in parks, playgrounds, sidewalks and roads, marijuana retail businesses and outdoor and rooftop cafes, just to name a few.

So where can I use marijuana?

Private property is your best bet; but again, there could be issues here. Property owners are allowed to ban the use and possession of marijuana on their properties; so if you rent, you may not be able to use marijuana in your home. When using marijuana in your home, keep in mind secondhand smoke, whether from tobacco or marijuana, can be dangerous. Make your home smoke-free to limit your loved ones’ exposure to secondhand smoke.

How much marijuana can I possess or carry around with me?

Adults ages 21 years and older can possess or carry as much as 1 ounce of retail marijuana at a time. Just don’t try to use it in public! Remember, this is one of those areas where some cities are stricter, so be sure you learn what your local government allows.

Can I use while I am cruising around town?

Marijuana is regulated just like alcohol, so think of it like an open container law. Neither drivers nor passengers are allowed to open the marijuana packaging and use the product while in the car.

Can I get a DUI for driving while stoned?

Yes. Colorado passed a law in 2013 that makes it illegal to drive with more than 5 nanograms of delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (the psychoactive THC) in your blood.

What about marijuana possession for teens and young adults under age 21?

Marijuana use and possession are illegal for anyone under the age of 21 in Colorado. Retail stores can lose their license for selling marijuana to anyone underage, and adults can be charged with a felony for giving marijuana products to someone underage.

Can I grow my own product?

Adults over age 21 can purchase, possess, grow and transport as many as 6 marijuana plants in an enclosed and locked space, as long as it is not displayed in public and not sold. Only three of the plants can be mature at any one time. If the home has residents under the age of 21, the grow area must be enclosed and locked in a separate space that the minors cannot access.

Can I sell my own product?

Adults over age 21 can give as much as an ounce of marijuana to another adult over age 21, but not sell it. This includes the product you grow yourself. Only licensed growers can sell their product.

Now that it is legal, can I still be drug tested at work?

Despite legalization, employers can still test for marijuana and make employment decisions based on drug tests. Be sure you know your workplace policies before you use.

If I head to a retail marijuana business, can I bring my children in with me?

​No. According to the retail marijuana rules passed by the Department of Revenue, no one under the age of 21 is allowed in the restricted portion of a retail store.

What is with all of the packaging?

Retail and medical marijuana businesses are now required to sell all marijuana products in packaging that is not see-through, resealable, child-resistant and includes the necessary labels and warnings. The packaging is for your protection and the protection of those in your home who may not realize that a brownie is more than it seems.

How will I know if a product contains marijuana?

The Department of Revenue requires that all retail marijuana products use this symbol on packaging. Use of this symbol indicates that the product in the package to which it is affixed contains Retail Marijuana or a product that includes Retail Marijuana or a Retail Marijuana concentrate. It is intended that the symbol will be part of educational programs aimed at children not yet able to read, so that they may be taught to avoid any package on which this symbol is displayed. Additionally, adults unable to read the ingredient label (i.e. non-English speaking) will be made aware of the presences of Retail Marijuana or its concentrates in a product displaying this symbol. This symbol is specific to Retail Marijuana and is not currently mandated for Medical Marijuana or Medical Marijuana products labels.

How is marijuana taxed in Colorado?

Colorado voters passed Proposition AA in November 2013 to add a 10% sales tax on top of the 2.9% standard sales tax rate in Colorado. In addition, a 15% excise tax was added to the wholesale price (between cultivators and businesses). Learn more about the taxes from the Colorado Department of Revenue.

Are there limited hours of operation of retail marijuana businesses?

Yes. Per state rules, retail marijuana businesses can only be open between 8 a.m. and midnight. Again, your municipality may have passed stricter hours of operation, so be sure to check with local laws before you head to a retailer.

Can I take marijuana out of state?

No. It is illegal to leave Colorado with any marijuana products. Additionally, Denver International Airport has chosen to ban the possession, use, display and transfer (giving to another person) of all marijuana on its property.

Visitors:

How old do I have to be to purchase, possess or consume marijuana?

You must be 21 years old to purchase, possess, or use marijuana or marijuana products. It is illegal to give or sell retail marijuana to minors.

Where can I purchase marijuana or other marijuana products?

You can purchase marijuana and related products at licensed retailers approved by the Colorado Department of Revenue and the local municipality.

How much can I purchase from a marijuana retailer?

People who are not Colorado residents are limited to purchasing no more than ¼ ounce of marijuana.

Can I use the product at a cafe or in a local park?

Not in Colorado. The law bans all public use of any marijuana product (not just smoking). This means it is illegal to use marijuana in amusement, sporting or music venues, and at parks, playgrounds, sidewalks and roads, marijuana retail businesses and outdoor and rooftop cafes, just to name a few.

So where can I use marijuana?

Private property is your best bet; but you may not be staying with friends. Property owners are allowed to ban the use and possession of marijuana on their property; so if you are staying in a hotel, you may not be able to use in your room. There are some hotels that allow tobacco smoking, but this does not mean that they will allow marijuana use. Be sure to research the places you will be staying.

How much marijuana can I possess or carry around with me?

Adults ages 21 years and older can possess or carry up to 1 ounce of retail marijuana at a time. Just don’t try to use it in public! Some cities are stricter, so be sure you learn what each city you will be visiting allows.

Can I use while I am cruising around town?

No. Marijuana is regulated just like alcohol, so think of it like an open container law. Neither drivers nor passengers are allowed to open marijuana packaging or use the product while in the car.

Can I get a DUI for driving while stoned?

Yes. Colorado passed a law in 2013 that makes it illegal to drive with more than 5 nanograms of delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (the psychoactive THC) in your blood.

What about marijuana possession for teens and young adults under age 21?

Marijuana use and possession are illegal for anyone under the age of 21 in Colorado. Retail stores can lose their licenses for selling marijuana to anyone underage, and adults can be charged with a felony for giving any marijuana products to someone underage.

If I head to a retail marijuana business, can I bring my children in with me?

​No. According to the retail marijuana rules passed by the Department of Revenue, no one under the age of 21 is allowed in the restricted portion of a retail store.

What is with all of the packaging?

Retail and medical marijuana businesses are now required to sell all marijuana products in packaging that is not see-through, resealable, child-resistant and includes the necessary labels and warnings. The packaging is for your protection and the protection of those in your home who may not realize that a brownie is more than it seems.

How will I know if a product contains marijuana?

The Department of Revenue requires that all retail marijuana products use this symbol on packaging. Use of this symbol indicates that the product in the package to which it is affixed contains Retail Marijuana or a product that includes Retail Marijuana or a Retail Marijuana concentrate. It is intended that the symbol will be part of educational programs aimed at children not yet able to read, so that they may be taught to avoid any package on which this symbol is displayed. Additionally, adults unable to read the ingredient label (i.e. non-English speaking) will be made aware of the presences of Retail Marijuana or its concentrates in a product displaying this symbol. This symbol is specific to Retail Marijuana and is not currently mandated for Medical Marijuana or Medical Marijuana products labels.

How is marijuana taxed in Colorado?

Colorado voters passed Proposition AA in November 2013 to add a 10% sales tax on top of the 2.9% standard sales tax rate in Colorado. In addition, a 15% excise tax was added to the wholesale price (between cultivators and businesses). Learn more about the taxes from the Colorado Department of Revenue.

Are there limits on hours of operation for retail marijuana businesses?

Yes. Per state rules, retail marijuana businesses can be open between 8 a.m. and midnight. Again, your municipality may have stricter hours of operation, so be sure to check with local laws before you head to a retailer.

Can I take marijuana home with me?

No. It is illegal to leave Colorado with any marijuana products. Additionally, Denver International Airport bans the possession, use, display and transfer (giving to another person) of all marijuana on its property.

Visit the state's website for more information about applying for a retail marijuana business license, home growing of marijuana, rights of property owners and businesses and much more.

The City of Denver also has an informative website for their local laws, check that out here.

Also on HuffPost:

Close
People More Evolved Than Obama On Pot
of
Share
Tweet
Advertisement
Share this
close
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

Drug policy of Colorado - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Denver Marijuana Info | - Colorado.gov

The Cannabist: Denver and Colorado marijuana news, culture and ...

Colorado lawmakers working to close loopholes in legal marijuana ...

10 things to know about Colorado's recreational marijuana shops ...

Medical marijuana: Will Colorado's "green rush" last? - CBS News

Colorado legislature's economists predict smaller marijuana tax haul ...

Marijuana | Colorado Springs Gazette

Marijuana news: Colorado clarifies pot packaging law

High demand for pot jobs: huge turnout at Colorado marijuana job fair