Huffpost Books

PEN/Faulkner Award Winner 2014 Announced

Posted: Updated:
LONDON - APRIL 21: US Author Karen Joy Fowler poses for a portrait at the offices of her publisher's Penguin on April 21, 2005 in London, England. Karen's bestselling book 'The Jane Austen Book Club' was nominated for the 'Richard and Judy Best Read of the Year' prize at last night's British Book Awards. (Photo by David Levenson/Getty Images) | David Levenson via Getty Images

NEW YORK (AP) — A novel about a 1970s Midwestern family with a most unusual sibling, Karen Fowler's "We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves," has won the PEN/Faulkner prize for fiction.

The $15,000 award was announced Wednesday by the directors of the PEN/Faulkner Foundation, Susan Richards Shreve and Robert Stone.

The other four finalists, Daniel Alarcon, Percival Everett, Valerie Trueblood and Joan Silber, each receive $5,000.

Fowler is best known for her novel "The Jane Austen Book Club." Previous PEN/Faulkner winners include Philip Roth, Ann Patchett and Sherman Alexie.

Around the Web

Award for Fiction | PEN / Faulkner Foundation

PEN / Faulkner Foundation | Promoting a Love of Literature

2014 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction | PEN / Faulkner Foundation

Karen Joy Fowler wins 2014 PEN/Faulkner award for fiction

The 2014 PEN-Faulkner finalists are announced

Karen Joy Fowler Wins PEN/Faulkner Fiction Prize