TASTE

This Vegan Take On The Snickers Bar Might Make The World A Better Place

02/18/2015 07:00 am ET | Updated Feb 22, 2015

The Snickers Bar, despite its simple-seeming, delightful blend of chocolate, nougat, caramel and peanuts, is not a vegan food.

Why's that? The candy bar, which debuted in 1930, isn't as simple as chocolate and peanuts. This VIP of the vending machine also contains milk and eggs -- two ingredients that are on the "no" list for die-hard vegans.

Thank goodness, there is a fix. Vegans -- or just those looking to whip up something cruelty-free at home -- can make this Vegan Snickers Bar recipe from Honey Stuck.

vegan snickers

Check out that cross section, friends. What you see is, as Honey Stuck puts it, "a four-layer assault on your senses." There's a layer of chewy raw brownie, creamy coconut nougat and date caramel sauce studded with peanuts, all covered in a vegan chocolate ganache.

Chocolate and peanuts are a pair meant to be, and this vegan version of the classic candy bar doesn't sacrifice that love for a moment.
chocolatepeanu

With news that veganism could save the world from destruction, eating one of these is a sweet move in more ways than one. Get the recipe from Honey Stuck here.

Want to read more from HuffPost Taste? Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest and Tumblr.

Also on HuffPost:

Vegan Cupcake Recipes
Suggest a correction
Comments

CONVERSATIONS