Chris Eyre is a nationally recognized film and television director and producer who has received many awards, including both a Peabody and an Emmy. Eyre directed the highly acclaimed Smoke Signals, which won a coveted Sundance Audience Award and the Sundance Filmmakers Trophy.

After graduating from New York University’s film school, Eyre worked as a fellow in the Sundance Institute’s Directors Lab under the mentorship of Robert Redford. His 2004 film Edge of America was selected to show on Opening Night at the 2004 Sundance Film Festival, and it garnered Eyre the highly prestigious award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement from the Directors Guild of America. His latest film, Hide Away, starring Josh Lucas and James Cromwell, was released in May 2012.

Eyre’s work for television includes three episodes of the PBS miniseries We Shall Remain (2009) — “After the Mayflower,” “Tecumseh’s Vision,” and “Trail of Tears.” He also directed episodes of the critically acclaimed NBC show Friday Night Lights (2009 and 2011). Eyre has received a Rockefeller Foundation Intercultural Film Fellowship, an NHK/Sundance Cinema 100 Award, the Martin Scorsese Post-Production Award, a Humanitas Prize, the Warner Brothers Post-Production Award, a United States Artists fellowship, an Independent Spirit Award, multiple First Americans in the Arts awards, and multiple Best Film awards at the American Indian Film Festival.

He is currently chair of The Film School at Santa Fe University of Art and Design in Santa Fe, N.M.