iOS app Android app

Entries by Andrew Losowsky from 08/2012

Gore Vidal Quotes: Witty Phrases From The Prolific Author

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

Gore Vidal was certainly a prolific author, screenwriter, essayist. He was also a witty observer of human nature in the tradition of Mark Twain and H....

Gore Vidal's Grave: The Tomb He Bought In Rock Creek Cemetery, Washington, D.C. (PHOTOS)

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

In 1995, Christopher Hitchens described Gore Vidal's final resting place in a piece for the London Review of Books. "You take a few paces down the...

Amazon Attacked Over Sex Tourism EBook

Posted 08.02.2012 | Books

Amazon came under fire this week from Love146, a group that campaigns against child trafficking and exploitation, for selling what appeared to be a se...

Alice In Waterland: Elena Kalis Takes Stunning Underwater Photos Inspired By 'Alice's Adventures In Wonderland'

Posted 08.03.2012 | Books

'Alice in Waterland' is a beautiful series of photographs re-imagining the Lewis Carroll classic underwater. It's a creation of photographer Elena...

Independents Rising: Third Party Politics In America (EXCERPT)

Posted 08.03.2012 | Books

From "Independents Rising" by Jacqueline S. Salit. Copyright © 2012 by the author and reprinted by permission of Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Ma...

10 Questions for CBS' Sherlock Adaptation 'Elementary'

Posted 08.03.2012 | Books

By Kit Steinkellner for Book Riot After watching (and re-watching) (and re-re-watching) BBC’s Sherlock, the mini-series that might as well be cal...

The Numinous Place: Mark Staufer's Transmedia Fiction Includes Lucid Dreaming

Posted 08.07.2012 | Books

A new transmedia project called 'The Numinous Place' is trying to raise money on Kickstarter. It already has one famous backer: the actor Russell Crow...

American Flags On Book Covers

Posted 08.09.2012 | Books

The earliest recognizable American flag - or the thing that it became - was created 235 years ago. Yet its meanings continue to shift and change as pa...

How To Save Bookstores: 28 Ideas From Existing Locations

Posted 08.09.2012 | Books

Real-world bookstores are suffering. We all know why. However, they are far from gone from our lives, and the iconic San Francisco bookstore Keple...

David Rakoff Dead: Popular Humorist And Essayist Dies At 47

Posted 08.10.2012 | Books

David Rakoff, the popular writer and radio personality, died yesterday of cancer, age 47. He was a frequent contributor to the radio show This America...

George R.R. Martin, 'Game Of Thrones' Author, Slams Republicans For 'Voter Suppression'

Posted 08.13.2012 | Books

George R.R. Martin, author of "A Game of Thrones", has slammed "Republicans and their Teabagger allies" in so-called swing states for what he calls "v...

Bulwer-Lytton 2012: Cathy Bryant Wins Worst Opening Sentence Competition

Posted 08.13.2012 | Books

The Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest 2012 is the latest in an annual series of competitions to find the worst-possible opening sentence to a novel. T...

F-bomb, Sexting Among New Words In Merriam-Webster Dictionary

Posted 08.13.2012 | Books

NEW YORK -- It's about freakin' time. The term "F-bomb" surfaced in newspapers more than 20 years ago but will land Tuesday for the first time in the...

The Tenenbaums (and Co.) In Print - From The Current - The Criterion Collection

Posted 08.14.2012 | Books
Read More: Books News

These book and magazine covers all appear in Wes Anderson’s tale of an extended family with literary distinction (and, in one case, athletic infamy)...

13 Female Mystery Authors

Posted 08.15.2012 | Books

The first female detective is generally agreed to have been "G", the hero of "The Female Detective," an 1864 novel soon to be republished by the Briti...

Best Novel Of All Time (VOTE)

Posted 08.16.2012 | Books

The Best Novel of All Time? It's an impossible statement of course, but while we wait for the big titles of the fall to hit, and everyone is talking a...

The Penis Poll: How the Best Selling Erotic Books Measure Up

Posted 08.17.2012 | Books

By Keri English for indiereader.com It’s summer time and the weather is hot. And so, evidently, is this season’s current reading list. “Momm...

'Winter Journal' By Paul Auster: The Book We're Talking About This Week

Posted 08.20.2012 | Books

Winter Journal by Paul Auster Henry Holt, $26 What is it about? An unconventional look at the author's own life, presented in fragments, lists ...

Poetry Of The Taliban: Before Sept 11th, Love

Posted 08.22.2012 | Books

These poems are taken from the book Poetry of the Taliban (Columbia/Hurst, $24.50). These poems come from the chapters "Before Sept 11th" and "Love". ...

What Is The Best Novel Ever Written? (VOTE)

Posted 08.22.2012 | Books

Our spurious 'Best Novel Of All Time' competition, with more than 1,100 comments, is now OVER! And the winner is (drumroll, please): "To Kill a Mocki...

J.K. Rowling To Make A Rare U.S. Appearance For 'The Casual Vacancy' | Shelf Life | EW.com

Posted 08.22.2012 | Books
Read More: Books News

You may wish you could Apparate to New York City come Oct. 16. J.K. Rowling will be making a rare public U.S. appearance to discuss The Casual Vaca...

Literary Wedding: Stefanie Kiper And Marc Schmidt Get Married With Book Spine Poetry Invite

Posted 08.23.2012 | Books

Not long ago, we reported on Dr Seuss-themed weddings. Book mad Stefanie Kiper and Marc Schmidt have created their own literary theme for their forthc...

The Best (Or Worst) Of Apocalyptic Books

Posted 08.23.2012 | Books

From the LA Review of Books: The apocalyptic novel has many mutations.  In an increasingly modern and mechanized world, the anxiety of the apocaly...

Taliban Poetry About NGOs, Discontent

Posted 08.23.2012 | Books

These poems are taken from the book Poetry of the Taliban (Columbia/Hurst, $24.50). These poems come from the chapters "Before Sept 11th" and "Love". ...

Bradbury Landing: Astronomical Objects Named After Writers

Posted 08.24.2012 | Books

NASA announced yesterday that the landing ground for the Curiosity explorer had been named Bradbury Landing, in honor of the late author Ray Bradbury....