Huffpost Small Business
The Blog

Featuring fresh takes and real-time analysis from HuffPost's signature lineup of contributors

Bryce Longton Headshot

Two Places at Once: Divide's Merging Personal and Work Devices

Posted: Updated:

It's 10:30 a.m. in New York, 3:30 p.m. in London, 10:30 p.m. in Hong Kong and Divide is working. On 22nd street, a close up of three figures huddled over an iPad on bean bags. Cut to Hong Kong where a pair drinks tea under the cityscape's lights glowing in the backdrop, then back to London where ping-pongers volley and chat strategy.

This is the life at Divide, where multiple-personas are not only a reality of having such a global team, but also is on-brand. Divide's main product allows your smartphone to be your work device and your personal device at once.

It goes like this, all on the same phone. The work avatar is encrypted, secure, and able to be wiped remotely at the whim of your employer. While the personal screens are yours to command and unable to be erased by your employer. No need to carry two devices. A perk for employees. And a cost saver for employers (fewer devices to buy).

The brand-new Divide offices are split between two floors. The sunlit space has an open floor plan, a retro see-through fridge with all manner of drinks and a cotton candy machine. While we were there there was a rousing debate over how best to connect the two floors -- by pole, ladder or slide.

Now go forth (and be in two places at once).

Get Wakefield. Startup Stories Daily.