iOS app Android app

Christopher Meeks
GET UPDATES FROM Christopher Meeks
 
Christopher Meeks began as a playwright and has had three plays produced. His short stories have been published in a number of journals and are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. During the last eight years, he's focused on novels. The Brightest Moon of the Century is a story that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes as “a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving.” His comic novel, Love at Absolute Zero, is about a physicist who uses the Scientific Method to find his soul mate -- and he has just three days. Critic Grady Harp calls the book “a gift." His suspense novel, Blood Drama is his most recent book.

To read more of Christopher's blogs and to order his books, please visit him on Red Room.

Entries by Christopher Meeks

Sixty Is Sixty

(80) Comments | Posted December 6, 2013 | 6:26 AM

Sixty is not the new fifty. Sixty is what it is: beyond middle-age.

I'm not saying this to be mean. It's just that my friends here in the Baby Boom Generation don't want to talk about it. Sixty is hard to accept. So are the AARP envelopes that go in...

Read Post

Life Stages And The Loss Of A Friend

(10) Comments | Posted January 7, 2012 | 10:51 AM

2012-01-06-GravesideforAndy.jpg

In As You Like It, Shakespeare said man has seven ages. The first four are each expressed in a single word: infant, schoolboy, lover, soldier. The last three needed explanation. There's a stage where everything comes together, and the man becomes a judge....

Read Post

Two Hats For Today's Writers (and 10 Awful Truths)

(2) Comments | Posted December 18, 2011 | 8:11 PM

I just saw a documentary, To Write and Keep Kind, a PBS documentary on the life and writing of Raymond Carver. It's part of the two-disc Criterion Collection version of Robert Altman's movie Short CutsF, based on Raymond Carver's short stories. I couldn't help but think at the...

Read Post

Connections, Electrical And Otherwise

(3) Comments | Posted December 6, 2011 | 1:17 PM

2011-12-04-Treedownsmaller.jpg

My family happens to live close to Pasadena, where, as shown in the news, we recently experienced great winds. Our neighbor lost a tree -- right onto his car and house. Another tree partially blocks our street. The drive alone to the nearby...

Read Post

The Gravity Of Success

(1) Comments | Posted November 20, 2011 | 1:35 PM

I tell my writing students to avoid the abstract by not using strings of big words with broad meanings, words such as "happiness, "freedom" and "contentment." There's no imagery there. "Curdled milk," "scratched leather shoes," and "scruffle-haired terrier" bring more to mind.

That said, I've been butting up against...

Read Post

Letter To My Younger Self

(0) Comments | Posted November 2, 2011 | 1:13 PM

I came across a picture of myself in college, and I was stunned how much I used to look as my son, Zach, does now, who's also in college. He's 24, and I was 21 in the photo.2011-11-02-Chrisin1974.jpg

I'm looking in from...

Read Post