THE BLOG
11/26/2013 10:50 am ET Updated Jan 26, 2014

66 Instagram Accounts Helping Cultivate a Better Food System

One of the fastest growing and powerful emerging social media networks is Instagram. The photo and video sharing site now has 150 million active users who are uploading an astonishing 55 million photos a day. To follow Food Tank on Instagram, click here!

And while Rihanna and Usher use Instagram to show off their latest outfits or connect with fans, many organizations are using the network to create awareness, spur action, and make positive change in the food and agriculture system.

True Food Kitchen, for example, is highlighting healthy and seasonal food, like this farm fresh salad.

The organization Food and Water Watch uses Instagram to compel viewers to take charge of where their food comes and ensure access safe, clean water.

And Grist utilizes the network to share green news with a touch of humor.

Food Tank is highlighting 66 Instagram accounts we think are helping cultivate a better food system!

1. Adam Goldberg - @alifewortheating
2. Alice Waters - @alicelouisewaters
3. Anthony Bourdain - @anthonybourdain
4. Barton Seaver - @bartonseaver
5. Bill Telepan - @billtelepan
6. Carey Nershi - @careynotcarrie
7. Charity: Water - @charitywater
8. Conservation International - @conservationorg
9. Cool Foods Campaign - @coolfoodscampaign
10. ECHO - @echofightshunger
11. EcoWaste - @ecowasteuae
12. Edible San Francisco - @ediblesf
13. Edible Schoolyard - @esynyc
14. Equal Exchange - @EqualExchange
15. Foodimentary - @Foodimentary
16. Food Day - @food_day
17. Food Recovery Network - @foodrecovery
18. Food Revolution - @foodrev
19. Food & Water Watch - @foodandwaterwatch
20. Good Eggs, Inc. - @goodeggsinc
21. Good Food Finder - @goodfoodfinder
22. Good Food Jobs - @goodfoodjobs
23. Green City Market - @greencitymarket
24. Green Grocer DC - @greengrocerdc
25. Grist - @grist
26. Half the Sky - @halftheskymovement
27. Heifer International - @heiferinternational
28. HuffPost Food - @HuffpostFood
29. HuffPost Green - @Huffpostgreen
30. Inner City Farms - @Innercityfarms
31. Jamie Oliver - @jamieoliver
32. John Besh - @chefjohnbesh
33. Jonathan Bloom - @WastedFood
34. José Andrés - @chefjoseandres
35. Josh Treuhaft - @Thetreuhaft
36. Kat Kinsman - @katkinsman
37. Kiva - @kiva_microloans
38. Leon Kaye - @greengopost
39. Marc Vetri - @marcvetri
40. Marcus Samuelsson - @MarcusCooks
41. Matthew Jennings - @matthewjennings
42. Modern Farmer - @ModFarm
43. National Geographic - @natgeo
44. No Kid Hungry - @nokidhungry
45. Nom Yourself - @NomYourself
46. Oceana - @oceana
47. ONE Campaign - @onecampaign
48. Oxfam International - @oxfamgb and @oxfamamerica
49. Real Food Challenge - @realfoodnow
50. Real Food Daily - @OfficialRFD
51. Sam Fromartz - @fromartz
52. Sierra Club - @sierraclub
53. Slow Food NYC - @SlowFoodnyc
54. Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture - @stonebarns
55. The Nature Conservancy - @nature_org
56. Tree Hugger - @treehuggerdotcom
57. True Food Kitchen - @true_food_kitchen
58. Tucker Taylor - @farmert
59. U.N. Development Programme - @UNDP_
60. U.N. Foundation - @unfoundation
61. Urban Adamah - @urbanadamah
62. Urban Farm Magazine - @urbanfarmmag
63. World Food Program USA - @wfpusa
64. World Health Organization - @WorldHealthOrganization
65. Yonder Way Farm - @YonderWayFarmer
66. Young Farmers' Coalition - @youngfarmers