THE BLOG
03/13/2013 04:32 pm ET Updated May 13, 2013

My 75-Year-Old Dad Reviews "Shaun of the Dead"

I am one of those people who have "older" parents. And by that I mean my parents explain the obvious age gap by telling me, "You weren't a mistake, you were a surprise."

There are things they don't understand: twitter ("Did you twit that?"), debit cards ("I'll use a checkbook 'till the day I die!"), and the Grammy's ("I guess the new look is 'porn.'"). So, I was especially surprised when out of the blue my dad revealed that he loves the 2009 movie Zombieland. And he doesn't just love it, but wheezes with delight every time a zombie "gets it." Zombies are classic, so maybe there's some connection to another era there. But this new embrace of the modern walking dead? I didn't see it coming. So, as a good daughter, I decided to support him in his new passion and get him a little gift: a DVD of the movie Shaun of the Dead.

2013-03-13-shaun_of_the_dead_ver2.jpg

They say kids say the darndest things. But my belief is that it's 75-year-old parents who have just discovered a new movie who really blurt out classic nuggets of truth (hell, just look at Shit My Dad Says).

The following email thread is a conversation between my dad and me after he received Shaun of the Dead in the mail. (I should mention here that I inadvertently made my dad think he was losing his mind when he couldn't remember ordering it. Apparently, if you want to freak your parents out and make them think they have dementia, buy lots of stuff on Amazon and mail it to them.)

So here it is: my 75-year-old dad's review of the movie Shaun of the Dead. The first in a series where my dad somewhat unwittingly reviews movies I send him in the mail.

From: Dad

To: Leslie
Sent: Tuesday, February 26, 2013 12:36 PM
Subject: I don't know what to say-----?
.........................
I know I look bad, but-SHAUN OF THE DEAD!?

From: Leslie


To: Dad
Subject: Re: I don't know what to say-----?
Date: Tuesday, February 26, 2013, 4:53 PM
............................
haha...mentioned it to you when we visited. Thought you'd like it 'cause you're a fan of Zombieland.

And we think you look great :) I saw it years ago. Do you not like it? Xo

From: Dad

To: Leslie
Sent: Tuesday, February 26, 2013 6:36 PM
Subject: Re: I don't know what to say-----?
...........................
I haven't watched it yet-just got it today and was racking my brain, trying to figure out when I ordered a movie-till I remembered you said watch for something in the mail.--we will watch the zombie chomp tomorrow-a yummy matinee-yes, we will love it-Thanks again, Love Dad and Mom

From: Leslie

To: Dad
Subject: Re: I don't know what to say-----?
Date: Wednesday, February 27, 2013, 9:39 AM
..........................
haha...okay. And even if you don't like it, no worries. At least you have something new to watch :)

Love you lots! Miss you guys tons.

xoxo

From: Dad

To: Leslie
Sent: Wednesday, February 27, 2013 11:28 AM
Subject: Re: I don't know what to say-----?
.............................
Who could hate anything about flesh eating zombies???????????

From: Leslie

To: Dad
Subject: Re: I don't know what to say-----?
Date: Wednesday, February 27, 2013, 2:31 PM
................................
hahaha...I'm gonna make that my facebook status* ;)

* I don't think he understood what the aforementioned statement meant.

From: Dad

To: Leslie
Sent: Wednesday, February 27, 2013 4:34 PM
Subject: Re: I don't know what to say-----?
.....................................
Just finished watching Shaun of the you-know-who--quite a tender story--having to kill your mother and step-father after they gave up vegetables and needed some major eye surgery. I'm still trying to "net out" the meaning of this "ground round" epic--there are soo many layers of story line that it makes an onion look like a radish. Please excuse me while we try and soak in all that we have just experienced. All our love (if that is relevant anymore). Dad and unbitten Mom.

PS-- The depth of writing makes Zombieland look like "fun with Dick and Jane".

And there you have it! My dad's complete review of Shaun of the Dead. Stay tuned for his next review as he watches...well, geez, the options are endless! Now taking movie recommendations.

photo courtesy impawards

Subscribe to the Entertainment email.
Home to your favorite fan theories and the best movie recs.