05/19/2010 12:22 pm ET | Updated May 25, 2011

Another Major U.S Votes to Boycott Arizona

Add Seattle to the growing list of major American cities boycotting the state of Arizona.

In protest of Arizona's new immigration law, SB1070, the Seattle City Council voted unanimously to boycott Arizona. In a statement released prior to the vote, Seattle Mayor Mike McGinn said in part: "Seattle is home to the most diverse zip code in the nation. For communities to thrive, we need to uphold basic principles and values of fairness, family and opportunity for all."

Seattle City Council member Sally Clark agreed, calling the unanimous boycott vote, "a statement of values." Council member Nick Licata said: "With this vote, Seattle's council supports those in Arizona who want real immigration reform through Congress, and not through placing a burden on local police to enforce a law that invites discrimination."

Seattle is just the latest city to vote to boycott Arizona in response to SB1070. The list includes cities from across the country, including San Francisco, Los Angeles, Washington D.C., Boston, St. Paul, Austin, Oakland and San Diego.