iOS app Android app


OpenStack Icehouse Supports Rolling Upgrades and Tighter Overall Integration

Arnal Dayaratna | Posted 06.21.2014 | Technology
Arnal Dayaratna

On April 17, the OpenStack Foundation announced the availability of the ninth release of OpenStack, the open source, Infrastructure as a Service collaboration.

Windows Azure IaaS Takes Aim At Amazon Web Services Via Price, Functionality And Service

Arnal Dayaratna | Posted 06.22.2013 | Technology
Arnal Dayaratna

This was the week where Microsoft announced the general availability of Windows Azure Infrastructure as a Service. More than a simple declaration of production-grade availability, Microsoft's announcement about its IaaS platform delivered the strongest possible elaboration of its intent to compete head to head with Amazon Web Services in the IaaS space to date.

OpenStack Foundation Sets Sail With IBM and Red Hat on Board

Arnal Dayaratna | Posted 06.16.2012 | Technology
Arnal Dayaratna

After months of planning, the OpenStack Foundation is starting to take shape. This week, OpenStack announced 19 companies that will serve as Gold and ...

Citrix Turns CloudStack Away From OpenStack to Apache Software Foundation

Arnal Dayaratna | Posted 06.09.2012 | Technology
Arnal Dayaratna

Citrix has revealed plans to open source its CloudStack IaaS solution to the Apache Software Foundation under an Apache 2.0 license.

Piston Cloud Computing Launches pentOS, Enterprise Grade OpenStack Based Cloud Offering

Arnal Dayaratna | Posted 11.28.2011 | Technology
Arnal Dayaratna

Open source cloud computing took another giant leap forward with Piston Cloud Computing's September 27 announcement of the launch of pentOS™. pentOS...

OpenStack's First Birthday: A Year in Review

Arnal Dayaratna | Posted 09.19.2011 | Technology
Arnal Dayaratna

If OpenStack continues to grow at a rate that comes anything close to what it displayed in its first year, expect it to leave an even larger footprint in the cloud computing space by the time of its second birthday in July 2012.