04/27/2012 10:40 am ET Updated Jun 27, 2012

Dog Ears Music: Volume 225


Of Monsters and Men
Icelandic alt-pop/folk sextette Of Monsters and Men is the brainchild of songstress Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir, who initially enlisted Ragnar þórhallsson (vocals/guitar) to bolster her acoustic outlet Songbird. Together, they beefed up the unit's sound, adding Brynjar Leifsson (guitar), Arnar Rósenkranz Hilmarsson (drums), Kristján Páll Kristjánsson (bass), and Árni Guðjónsson (keys/accordion), and Of Monsters and Men was born. After winning Iceland's Músiktilraunir (Battle of the Bands) in 2010, the collective was ready for a larger stage. The ensemble inked its first deal in early 2011 and has since enjoyed a rush of appreciation in North America, The Netherlands, and across the globe. Discover "Dirty Paws," from Of Monsters and Men's 2012 full-length debut My Head Is an Animal. It's the undeniable sound of memories in the making.

Genre: Alternative

Artist: Of Monsters and Men

Song: Dirty Paws

Album: My Head Is an Animal

Timber Timbre
Timber Timbre is a Canadian alt-art/pop trio of one-man-bandmen. The talent pool, comprising multi-instrumentalists Mika Posen, Simon Trottier, and Taylor Kirk, has issued a handful-plus of projects since its founding in the mid-aughts. Highlights include two Juno Awards nominations, the Polaris Prize shortlist, and featured tracks for TV's Breaking Bad and The Good Wife. Shared stages include Laura Marling, Lykke Li, Braids, and Ron Sexsmith, with Feist and Meat Puppets to add. Collaborations include Tasseomancy, Jesi The Elder, and Winston Hacking. Download "Too Old to Die Young," from Timber Timbre's 2011 set Creep On Creepin' On.

Genre: Alternative

Artist: Timber Timbre

Song: Too Old to Die Young

Album: Creep On Creepin' On

Bristol, England, electronic-rock/dance fusion outfit Kosheen was founded in the late '90s by vocalist Sian Evan and producers/guitarists Darren "Decoder" Beale and Markee "Substance" Davies. (Live lineup is rounded out by drummer Mitch Glover and keyboardist Gary Eccles.) Kosheen's debut project hit the UK in 2001, went platinum, and has continued to chart at high altitudes. Collaborations include Geoff Barrow, Portishead, Bent, Root Doctors, and Tech Itch. Highlights include Best Remix at the Muzik Magazine Dance Awards and Record of the Year at the Dancestar USA Awards in Miami. With 4 full-lengths, a live album, and a raft of singles to collect, get started with "Blue Eyed Boy," from Kosheen's 2003 set Kokopelli.

Genre: Pop

Artist: Kosheen

Song: Blue Eyed Boy

Album: Kokopelli

Harry Escott
Modern classical composer and cellist Harry Escott was born in pre-Thatcher era London. After studies at Westminster Cathedral, he attended the Royal College of Music and Oxford. At the edge of the aughts, Escott joined forces with composer Molly Nyman and together they have delivered scores of scores for a bevy of features. Escott also double-times as a member of the North Sea Radio Orchestra, and his collaborations include Michael Winterbottom, Nick Broomfield, David Slade, Eran Creevy, Lavinia Greenlaw, and Steve McQueen. Film score credits include BAFTA-winning Poppy Shakespeare, Hard Candy, A Mighty Heart, Deep Water, Ghosts, The Road to Guantanamo, I Am a Slave, and Shame (starring Michael Fassbender and Carey Mulligan). Magic moments include a Cinema Eye Award nomination for The Arbor and a BIFA nomination for Shifty. Put your ear to Harry Escott's evocative and powerful "Unravelling," from the 2011 soundtrack Shame.

Genre: Soundtrack

Artist: Harry Escott

Song: Unravelling

Album: Shame

Turin Brakes
Turin Brakes is the South London-rooted creation of vocalists/guitarists Olly Knights and Gale Paridjanian. Rob Allum (drums), Eddie Myer (bass), and Phil Marten (keys) fill out the live set. Turin Brakes were founded in the late '90s, issued their debut release in 2001, and shortly after started to blaze the charts. A Mercury Prize nomination, featured tracks on The OC, and a trove of releases in the ether came next. The band has collaborated with Ethan Johns, Dido, Talk Talk, Pete Lawrie, David Gray, and Tony Hoffer. Turin Brakes deserve ear-time everywhere. Get "The Sea Change," from their 2010 project Outbursts. Turn it up!

Genre: Pop

Artist: Turin Brakes

Song: The Sea Change

Album: Outbursts

Katie Herzig
Nashville-based, Cali-born, Colorado-raised singer/songwriter Katie Herzig has it all in her fingertips: piano, accordion, drums, guitar, banjo. After earning a degree in journalism, she made her early music bones with the Newcomers Home quartette in the late '90s. Since the mid-aughts, Herzig took her gift of riches solo, released five full-lengths, and graces Nashville's Ten Out of Tenn assemblage. This Grammy-nominated songsmith's tracks have been featured on TV's Grey's Anatomy, Bones, Pretty Little Liars, Bored to Death; films Sex and the City, Going the Distance, New Year's Eve; and the Target spot for We Bought a Zoo. Shared stages/collaborations include Brandi Carlile, Shawn Colvin, The Fray, and Ruby Amanfu. Download "Wasting Time," from Katie Herzig's 2011 The Waking Sleep.

Genre: Alternative

Artist: Katie Herzig

Song: Wasting Time

Album: The Waking Sleep

Subscribe to the Entertainment email.
Home to your favorite fan theories and the best movie recs.