5 Illinois Laws You Have to Know

06/10/2015 11:30 am ET | Updated Jun 09, 2016

Not knowing the law is not an excuse for breaking it, so if you live in Illinois, you should familiarize yourself with these five rules so that you don't get caught unawares. Some you may know, and others might seem like no-brainer's, but who knows, learning about one of these laws could help you out in the future.

1. DUI threshold

While the blood alcohol concentration limit is 0.08 percent in Illinois, there is a zero tolerance policy for drivers under the age of 21.

2. Using a cell phone when driving

Unless you have Bluetooth or some other kind of hands-free device, using your cell phone to talk or text while driving is illegal. The fine for first-time offenders is $75; $100 for a second offense; $125 for a third offense and $150 for a fourth or subsequent offense. However, this law does not apply to law enforcement and other operators of emergency vehicles.

3. Divorce requirements

If you want to get a divorce in Illinois, you better make sure you're a resident of the state for at least 90 days. Also, Illinois has what is called "no fault" divorce, which means you or your spouse do not have to prove any wrongdoing.

4. Marital property division

Since Illinois is not a community property state, divorcing spouses have marital property divided based on equity or fairness, unless there is a valid prenuptial agreement in place.

5. Comparative fault for injuries

There is a modified contributory negligence standard in Illinois for recovering money from injury damages. If you're more than 50 percent at fault for injuries you sustained, you might not recover a penny.

Check out five more Illinois laws you'll need to know if you live in the state, including regulations about prayer in schools, marijuana and wills.

Sign up for our daily email to stay up to date with Illinois politics.

NEXT ARTICLE: 11 Most Endangered Historic Sites in Illinois in 2015