05/03/2011 10:07 am ET | Updated Jul 03, 2011

Half Million Kids Choose Their Favorite Books

Rick Riordan, author of The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) (Disney-Hyperion)

 and David Wiesner illustrator of Art & Max (Clarion/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2010) were named author and illustrators of the year at the Children's Choice Book Awards. The award is the result of more than a half million children across the country voting in six categories for their favorite books, author, and illustrator at bookstores, schools and libraries. The total number of votes was a 400 percent increase over last year.

The awards were presented at a gala event in New York City that kicked off Children's Book Week, the oldest national literacy event in the United States. Eloise creator, Hilary Knight, 2011 Caldecott Medal winner Erin E. Stead and the master of horror R.L. Stine were just some of the A-list celebrities of the children's book world served as presenters at this fourth annual event. Jarrett J. Krosoczka, creator of the Lunch Lady (Knopf/Random House) series found himself in situation similar to that of James Franco at this years Academy Awards.


He was both master of ceremonies for the evening and a nominee in the third and fourth grade category but unlike Franco he won the award as he also did in 2010. His hosting duties were interrupted by author Jon Scieszka who appeared on stage as the Jersey Shore's Snookie.


It was interesting to note that organization decided not to present Impact Award to Three Cups of Tea author, Greg Mortenson due the controversy that has been swirling around the accuracy of the book. In addition, LeVar Burton the host of the Reading Rainbow television series made an appearance and he and Krosoczka led the audience in the series theme song.

Author of the Year
Rick Riordan for The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) (Disney-Hyperion)

Illustrator of the Year
David Wiesner for Art & Max (Clarion/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Kindergarten to Second Grade Book of the Year
Little Pink Pup by Johanna Kerby (Putnam/Penguin)

Third Grade to Fourth Grade Book of the Year
Lunch Lady and the Summer Camp Shakedown by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Knopf/Random House)

Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade Book of the Year
The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles, Book 1) by Rick Riordan (Disney-Hyperion)

Teen Choice Book of the Year
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan (Dutton/Penguin)

The Children's Choice Book Awards program, launched in 2008 by The Children's Book Council (CBC) in association with Every Child a Reader, Inc. (the CBC Foundation), was created to provide young readers with an opportunity to voice their opinions about the books being written for them and to help develop a reading list that will motivate children to read more and cultivate a love of reading.