iOS app Android app More

Featuring fresh takes and real-time analysis from HuffPost's signature lineup of contributors
Sen. Frank Lautenberg

GET UPDATES FROM Sen. Frank Lautenberg
 

Stop and Remember

Posted: 08/22/11 02:05 PM ET

To ensure our country never forgets the price that terrorism exacted in the 9/11 terrorist attacks, the U.S. Senate approved legislation last month that asks all Americans to stop and remember during a national Moment of Remembrance on September 11.

The Moment of Remembrance will occur at the same time across the country: 1 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, noon Central Daylight Time, 11 a.m. Mountain Daylight Time and 10 a.m. Pacific Daylight Time.

Our local, state, and national institutions -- including state and local governments, military and veterans' organizations, the news media, houses of worship and sports teams -- have been called upon to mark this minute with bells or sirens to honor the victims.

During these 60 seconds, the only sounds heard across our country should be this patriotic chorus as we remember the victims and confirm our determination to stop terrorist attacks before they occur.

This will be a striking symbol of American solidarity, signaling to the world that we remain united against those who threaten our freedom.

It will also be a powerful, nationwide expression of America's patriotic spirit -- and our refusal to forget the thousands of innocent lives we lost in the destruction of 9/11.

Every member of the Senate -- representing all political stripes and every corner of this great nation -- joined together as cosponsors to create this Moment of Remembrance.

We want everyone to participate and help pay tribute to the lives lost and forever changed by the events at Ground Zero, the Pentagon and in Pennsylvania.

Almost 3,000 people were murdered in the devastating attacks of 9/11, including 60 police officers and more than 350 firefighters and other first responders. As a nation, we must keep alive the memories of these courageous Americans.

Like Pearl Harbor, 9/11 can be described as a day that will live in infamy.

Make no mistake: 9/11 changed our country forever, and a tragedy of this magnitude requires every American to stop and remember -- and show the world how strong we are when we stand together.

For more information about the Moment of Remembrance Visit www.lautenberg.senate.gov/stopandremember