iOS app Android app

Gore Vidal

What the Vidal/Mailer Feud Taught Us: When In Doubt, Laugh

Nick Kolakowski | Posted 08.05.2012 | Books
Nick Kolakowski

He was neither the first nor last intellectual jailed for heretical writings, and in some respects he proved lucky: Governments and other powers have a longstanding habit of killing thinkers whose ideas threaten the status quo.

Sunday Roundup

Arianna Huffington | Posted 10.04.2012 | Politics
Arianna Huffington

This week, America, on its journey down the path toward a more perfect union, continued its prolonged pit-stop at Chick-fil-A. The meal consisted of an overheated "appreciation day" for the fast-food chain, cooked up by Mike Huckabee, and a bitter side order of attacking fat people. No one ever said civil rights wouldn't come with an occasional bout of national indigestion. In India, over 670 million people were thrown into darkness during the biggest blackout since Charlie Sheen's last drinking binge. On Wall Street, a rogue algorithm caused a trading spree that wreaked havoc and gave America's stock markets yet another black eye. Meanwhile, Olympic fever momentarily broke with news that eight badminton players had been disqualified for intentionally losing their matches. All across America, sports fans reacted with disbelief, amazed that badminton is actually an Olympic sport. Lastly, we mourned the passing of a legendary writer and provocateur. RIP Gore Vidal.

Gore Vidal: "If You Don't Use the Right Word, You Don't Have an Idea"

Paul Schwartzman | Posted 10.04.2012 | Books
Read More: Gore Vidal, Books News
Paul Schwartzman

Vidal rang me 7am on a Sunday in Rome and without a pause he scrutinized 54 pages I had drafted on my year with Fellini. "Accrue. Fellini doesn't 'accrue' power. Bank accounts 'accrue' interest. I know what you want to say, but that word doesn't say it."

Gore Vidal: Remembering A Brilliant, Controversial Legend of the Sort We Don't Foster Any More

William Bradley | Posted 10.03.2012 | Books
William Bradley

The current scene isn't producing writers like Gore Vidal, one of the towering writers and cultural figures of the post-World War II era. So his passing Tuesday in Los Angeles, where he lived most of the past decade, marks a sad cultural milestone.

The Case Against Eulogizing Gore Vidal

2012-07-03-slatelogo.jpg | Posted 08.03.2012 | Home

By David Greenberg De mortuis nihil nisi bonum: Of the dead say nothing unless it is kind. This is a good rule of thumb. Despite the temptation, it...

Gore Vidal and His Reading List for America

Michael Winship | Posted 10.03.2012 | Politics
Michael Winship

I briefly interviewed Gore Vidal once. It was a little more than 30 years ago, at the end of a long day of filming in Los Angeles. I was working as writer and segment producer on an arts magazine pilot for public television.

How We Should Remember Gore Vidal

Christopher Bram | Posted 10.02.2012 | Books
Christopher Bram

I grew up on Gore Vidal. As a teenager in Virginia, I knew him first as a TV personality, then as an essayist and finally as a novelist. There was nobody else like him. On television he was unflappable. On the page he was startlingly funny, especially in his essays.

The Legacy Of Gore Vidal

Scott Isebrand | Posted 10.02.2012 | Books
Scott Isebrand

He was a sharp, cynical, free-thinking satirist, he had a lot of cameos in a lot of films, wined and dined a lot of famous friends at his Ravello home, La Rondinaia, had famous foes, and managed to outlive pretty much all of them. And he made it all look easy. But it wasn't.

Who Knows Where the Time Goes?

Alice Carey | Posted 10.02.2012 | Fifty
Alice Carey

Writers Gore Vidal and Maeve Binchy have died within twenty-four hours of each other. He was 86, she 73. One I knew. One I didn't.

NYT Forced To Run Major Correction In Gore Vidal Obit

Posted 10.02.2012 | Media

The New York Times was forced to run a very memorable correction for its recent obituary of legendary writer Gore Vidal. Vidal died on Tuesday at 8...

The Precision of Gore Vidal, Broadcaster

David Tereshchuk | Posted 10.02.2012 | Media
David Tereshchuk

Gore Vidal was -- for all his elegant door-stops in print, many of them lauded as superior American historical novels -- absolutely a creature of popular mass media. Of television most of all, I'd say.

The Enthralling, Enlightening, Infuriating Gore Vidal. Now Gone, But Not Resting, I Bet!

Liz Smith | Posted 10.02.2012 | Celebrity
Liz Smith

It is with a sigh of sadness that I bid farewell to my longtime friend and sometimes adversary, the famous writer Gore Vidal. Somehow, in the '70s and '80s, and '90s I became embroiled with knowing and admiring both Gore and his occasional mortal enemies, Norman Mailer...Truman Capote...William F. Buckley, Jr. Later, it was Gore vs. Dominick Dunne, with me in the middle.

My Gore Vidal Days

Robert O. Green | Posted 10.01.2012 | Home
Robert O. Green

It's said that one shouldn't meet one's heroes, that their feet of clay will be exposed, their ugliness will come to the fore. But for me, that wasn't the case with Gore Vidal.

Joy Behar Calls Out 'Real Housewives'

Posted 08.01.2012 | TV

On the day Gore Vidal died, "The View" host Joy Behar found a modern-day application for his famous quote, "Whenever a friend succeeds, a little somet...

Broadway Will Go Dark For Vidal

AP | MARK KENNEDY | Posted 10.01.2012 | Home

NEW YORK — Broadway theaters will dim their marquee lights on Friday night in memory of Gore Vidal and the cast of his play "The Best Man" will ...

Gore Vidal: Thank You

Jerry and Joe Long | Posted 10.01.2012 | Home
Jerry and Joe Long

Certain people transform your life. How do you thank someone for perspective? How do you thank someone for teaching you to think? I was lucky. I got to do it in person.

LOOK: Where Gore Vidal Grew Up

The Huffington Post | Michael Grass | Posted 08.01.2012 | DC

WASHINGTON -- Broad Branch Road, a winding lane that sits at the edge of Rock Creek Park, might be best known as a scenic commuter short-cut through t...

Gore Vidal's Visionary Case For Marijuana Legalization 40 Years Ago

Tony Newman | Posted 10.01.2012 | Politics
Tony Newman

There's one political issue that Vidal wrote about that has been overlooked: his opposition to the insane war on drugs.

Hail and Farewell, Gore Vidal

Peter Z. Scheer | Posted 10.01.2012 | Books
Peter Z. Scheer

I don't feel sad for Gore Vidal today. He lived to 86 and he had the kind of life people ask Santa Claus for. It was not without hardship, loss or suffering, but he leaves behind great works and a million smiles. If anything, I feel sad for my country, which lost one of its truest patriots.

25 Things Gore Vidal Hated

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

With Gore Vidal's death yesterday, we lost a major American iconoclast. Vidal was a man of many words, quite a few of them extremely negative. Writ...

In Remembrance: Gore Vidal's Caligula

Posted 08.01.2012 | Arts

Famed author author, playwright and commentator Gore Vidal passed away today at the age of 86. The sharp-tongued author, known for novels such as "Bur...

Gore Vidal's Most Notable Books

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

Gore Vidal, who died today at age 86, wore many hats as a writer. Aside from eight plays and 14 screenplays, including contributions to the iconic "Be...

Gore Vidal's Former Italian Home, Villa La Rondinaia, Shows Late Author's Love Of Amalfi Coast (PHOTOS)

Posted 08.01.2012 | Travel

Gore Vidal, the prolific American author who passed away on July 31, left behind both an intellectual legacy and a reputation for living large. Hi...

My Conversation with Gore Vidal (Video)

Dusty Wright | Posted 10.01.2012 | Books
Dusty Wright

I had the good fortune of sitting with Gore on several occasions these past few years. This is one of my favorite sit-downs with him.

Memorable Quotes From Gore Vidal

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

Gore Vidal was certainly a prolific author, screenwriter, essayist. He was also a witty observer of human nature in the tradition of Mark Twain and H....