iOS app Android app

Gore Vidal

Memorable Quotes From Gore Vidal

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

Gore Vidal was certainly a prolific author, screenwriter, essayist. He was also a witty observer of human nature in the tradition of Mark Twain and H....

Gore Vidal (1925-2012): He Did It His Way (And Loved Every Minute)

Jesse Kornbluth | Posted 08.01.2012 | Books
Jesse Kornbluth

Vidal had no self-doubt. He used his legendary intellect in the service of opinions that drew blood. Feuds thrilled him. And he never lost the swagger that comes from knowing that -- at least in his youth -- he was a stunner. Want a guided tour?

Gore Vidal Dead At 86

AP | HILLEL ITALIE | Posted 09.30.2012 | Books

In a world more to his liking, Gore Vidal might have been president, or even king. He had an aristocrat's bearing – tall, handsome and composed ...

A Vote for The Best Man

Joe Peyronnin | Posted 09.10.2012 | Home
Joe Peyronnin

The Best Man depicts a time when presidential conventions were brokered through backroom deals as delegates were swapped for political favors. Today, conventions have become highly scripted coronation ceremonies, just short of political infomercials.

Books You Hold in Your Hand

James A. Fragale | Posted 06.26.2012 | Books
James A. Fragale

While he was bartending a Hollywood party, Lucille Ball sashays in and slaps Scotty Bowers in the face. (Bowers matchmaker-ed for Desi Arnaz). One wonders why he wasn't hit more often. On the other hand, I, for one, would like to shake his hand.

Mike, Me and a Final Coincindence

Reese Schonfeld | Posted 06.17.2012 | Media
Reese Schonfeld

About Mike, I have only one more tale to tell, and it happened by pure coincidence. Mike Wallace was always a ladies man.

The Best Man: Gore Vidal's Patriot Act

Regina Weinreich | Posted 06.10.2012 | Home
Regina Weinreich

Sadly as Americans sort out the values of the real candidates, The Best Man is a reminder that the worst man will have a chance to triumph, and the best may only be a shadow of our highest ideals.

The Best Man: Democracy in Action

Wilborn Hampton | Posted 06.02.2012 | Home
Wilborn Hampton

When Gore Vidal's The Best Man opened in 1960, JFK and LBJ were slugging it out for the Democratic presidential nomination. Half a century later, Michael Wilson's riveting revival is a timely reminder that in politics, the more things change the more they stay the same.

Gore Vidal's The Best Man: Redux

Rochelle Jewel Shapiro | Posted 05.12.2012 | Entertainment
Rochelle Jewel Shapiro

Will Russell, who believes that personal smears shouldn't be used in politics, resort to his opponent's tactics in order to win? There's a chance that most of you already know the answer because The Best Man was also a 1964 movie starring Henry Fonda, Cliff Robertson, and Lee Tracy.

Bipartisanship on Broadway

Rob Taub | Posted 04.28.2012 | Home
Rob Taub

This was a time when politicians were smart, oozed tons of charm and weren't shy about drinking bourbon & branch water. The words politics and entertainment are seldom found in the same sentence, but The Best Man is loaded with both.

Fake Artist's Painting Sells For Big Bucks

Posted 11.18.2011 | Arts

It's not easy to make a name for yourself as an artist these days, and doubly so if you're not a real person. But there seems to have been no trouble ...

PHOTOS: Fashion Juggernaut's Achingly Cool Photographs

Posted 11.16.2011 | Arts

Before he was a photographer, Hedi Slimane was called the "single most influential men’s designer this century" as a designer for Dior. The mid-2000...

Grammar Pet Peeves: Em Dashes—Why Writers Should Use Them More Sparingly

Slate Magazine | Noreen Malone | Posted 07.26.2011 | Books

According to the Associated Press Stylebook--Slate's bible for all things punctuation- and grammar-related--there are two main prose uses--the abrupt ...

PHOTOS: Writers And Their Kitties

writersandkitties.tumblr.com | Posted 07.12.2011 | Books

From Zoe Triska, Huffington Post: This blog catalogs famous writers with the pet kittens and cats. Too cute!...

Gore Vidal Mocks New York Times

Posted 05.25.2011 | Media

Legendary author Gore Vidal took a shot at the New York Times in an interview with Details magazine that was posted on Monday afternoon. The magazi...

Truman Capote and Gore Vidal Star in Oscar Memories

Carole Mallory | Posted 05.25.2011 | Entertainment
Carole Mallory

My friend, Lester Persky, who had produced Oscar-nominated Shampoo as well as Hair, Equus, Yanks, had invited me to the 48th Annual Academy Awards...

Literary Fisticuffs! Flying Fists And Zinging Words: Nobody Fights Like An Angry Writer (PHOTOS)

The Huffington Post | Zoe Triska | Posted 05.25.2011 | Books

Stereotypically, artists are stormy, temperamental, and moody. These literary figures feed the stereotype with their classic feuds. We asked readers...

PHOTOS: Gore Vidal's Hollywood Hills Mediterranean For $3.495 Million

The Huffington Post | Lindsay Flans | Posted 05.25.2011 | Los Angeles

Via The Real Estalker: Playwright, writer and actor Gore Vidal, who is as famous for his work as he is for his well-known family, has just put his Hol...

Bachmann's Epiphany and My Own 'Conversion'

Dorian de Wind | Posted 05.25.2011 | Politics
Dorian de Wind

As a political flip-flopper myself, I will not criticize Bachmann's conversion. I just find her stated reasons flimsy. I don't think we need to bring patriotism into a discussion of our political affiliations.

10 Rules for a Literary Feud

Jeff Klima | Posted 05.25.2011 | Books
Jeff Klima

You must choose a feud partner who is somewhat equal to you in writing style. Literary feuds involving a fantasy writer who threatens to cast "rune-elf blood curses" on you aren't cool.

Dick Cavett: Get This Man a Show!

Tamar Abrams | Posted 05.25.2011 | Entertainment
Tamar Abrams

Dick Cavett does his homework. He's a witty conversationalist. His writing is as sharp, witty and engaging as his talk show hosting was. All this begs the question: Why is this man not currently hosting a TV show?

Not-So-Magical Realism

John Feffer | Posted 05.25.2011 | World
John Feffer

The government has provided prosecutors with a document outlining the military's role in one massacre of civilians. But can the Guatemalan courts end the climate of impunity in the country?

McChrystal Clear: When Warriors Are Faced With Politics

Reese Schonfeld | Posted 05.25.2011 | Politics
Reese Schonfeld

General McChrystal needed a way out of what was becoming for him an unbearable burden: the conflict between the best interests of his country and the best interests of the soldiers who served under him.

J.D. Salinger, Nicholas Sparks, Maurice Sendak And More: When Writers Get Angry

Lit Drift | Jiv Evanczuk | Posted 05.25.2011 | Books

There's definitely a certain appeal about the "angry" writer. I don't think I'm the only one intrigued with this idea; the Examiner recently put out a...

'Hitch-22': 6 Juicy Celebrity Bites From Christopher Hitchens's New Memoir (PHOTOS, POLL)

Huffington Post | Gideon Pine | Posted 05.25.2011 | Books

In recent years, Christopher Hitchens's personality has almost always overshadowed his prose. So, it seems fitting that the 61-year-old rhetorical pug...