Huffpost Business
The Blog

Featuring fresh takes and real-time analysis from HuffPost's signature lineup of contributors

Vala Afshar Headshot

The Top 100 Most Social Customer Service Pros On Twitter

Posted: Updated:

As the chief customer officer for Enterasys, I am very fortunate to be a member of an award-winning global customer service and support organization. Our ability to deliver strong customer support is one of the driving factors for our company growth over the past four years. One of the biggest benefits of a strong customer service organization is recruitment - talented employees want to work for a company that is customer driven. In 2012, both the Boston Globe and the Boston Business Journal recognized our company as one of the best places to work in Boston - #4 out of nearly 1,600 companies!

In today's knowledge sharing and connected economy, your customer facing frontline employees represent your company's brand. Your brand is what people are saying about you when you're not in the room. The web is the room and it's social. Some companies today view social media as strictly a marketing tool - this is a mistake. I am also the chief marketing officer for our company and I believe that customer service is your most important marketing asset. The customer experience must be in the forefront of everything that we do. Customer experience is simply a collection of memories. Companies must be easy to do business with and they must hire and keep memorable employees. To compete and win, companies must recognize and celebrate their customer service and support personnel. Companies must invest in training and personal development of service professionals and then empower them to delight. They must also encourage frontline employees to leverage social channels to bolster customer relationships and humanize the brand. . Please remember, customers build relationships with our people, not our products.

I have compiled a list of the top 100 customer service and experience management professionals who exemplify excellence in customer service. They regularly contribute valuable content on Twitter. These service champions create and curate original content that speaks to customer experience management, customer support delivery, customer relationship management (CRM), service performance management, social customer care, and community management. These top 100 professionals include multiple best-selling authors, industry analysts, customer support management, service-oriented company executives, community managers, keynote speakers, bloggers, customer experience architects, media personalities, and consultants. The common thread that binds these service advocates is the unwavering commitment to improve customer experience, and their consistent level of contributions on Twitter. I emphasize active engagement on social networks as an important criterion for making this list and I believe these customer service champions deserve to be recognized and celebrated for their work.

Here are the top 100 most social customer service pros on Twitter: (click on any avatar to connect to their Twitter page)

  1. Shep Hyken, @Hyken
  2. Marsha Collier, @MarshaCollier
  3. Frank Eliason, @FrankEliason
  4. Paul Greenberg, @pgreenbe
  5. Kate Leggett, @kateleggett
  6. Tristan Bishop, @KnowledgeBishop
  7. Roy Atkinson, @RoyAtkinson
  8. Charlie Isaacs, @charlieisaacs
  9. Ray Wang, @rwang0
  10. Barry Dalton, @bsdalton
  11. Michael Fauscette, @mfauscette
  12. Kate Nasser, @KateNasser
  13. Ted Coine, @tedcoine
  14. Mitch Lieberman, @mjayliebs
  15. Brian Vellmure, @BrianVellmure
  16. Jeannie Walters, @jeanniecw
  17. Annette Franz, @annettefranz
  18. Kerry Bodine, @kerrybodine
  19. Natalie Petouhoff, @drnatalie
  20. Justin Flitter, @JustinFlitter
  21. Bruce Temkin, @btemkin
  22. Jeanne Bliss, @JeanneBliss
  23. Wendy S Lea, @WendySLea
  24. Colin Shaw, @ColinShaw_CX
  25. Michael Lytle, @Michael_Lytle
  26. William Band, @waband
  27. Guy Stephens, @guy1067
  28. Scott McKain, @scottmckain
  29. Bob Thompson, @Bob_Thompson
  30. Becky Carroll, @bcarroll7
  31. Ty Sullivan, @ty_sullivan
  32. Ginger Conlon, @customeralchemy
  33. Bryan Person, @BryanPerson
  34. Adrian Swinscoe, @adrianswinscoe
  35. Greg Meyer, @grmeyer
  36. Mila D'Antonio, @miladantonio
  37. Bill Quiseng, @billquiseng
  38. Rob Markey, @rgmarkey
  39. Aimee Lucas, @Aimee_Lucas
  40. Flavio Martins, @flavmartins
  41. Robert Bacal, @rbacal
  42. Rosetta C Lue, @rosettalue
  43. William Goddard, @W_Goddard
  44. Richard R Shapiro, @RichardRShapiro
  45. Christopher Carfi, @ccarfi
  46. Bob E Hayes, @bobehayes
  47. Caty Kobe, @catykobe
  48. Greg Ortbach, @GregOrtbach
  49. Mark Bernhardt, @ImMarkBernhardt
  50. Alan Berkson, @berkson0
  51. Rachel Miller, @rachelloumiller
  52. Michael Ludwig, @Michael_Ludwig
  53. Jason Houck, @MJasonHouck
  54. Bill Gerth, @comcastcares
  55. Mike Wittenstein, @mikewittenstein
  56. Paul Sevcik, @PaulSevcik
  57. Geoff Snyder, @Geoff_Snyder
  58. Kevin Baldacci, @KevinBaldacci
  59. Blake Landau, @BlakeLandau
  60. Al Hopper, @AlHopper_
  61. Dave Tidwell, @dave_t_pilot
  62. Sarah Stealey Reed, @sstealey
  63. Russel Lolacher, @RussLoL
  64. Jeffrey J Kingman, @JeffreyJKingman
  65. Ron Kaufman, @RonKaufman
  66. Mark Orlan, @MarkOrlan
  67. Margerita de Miranda, @MardeMir
  68. Nancy Porte, @nporte
  69. Jonty Pearce, @JontyPearce
  70. Melissa Kovacevic, @MKCallConsult
  71. Jennifer Maldonado, @maldyj
  72. Colin Taylor, @colinsataylor
  73. Graham Frost, @grafrost
  74. Lori Jo Vest, @lorijovest
  75. Steve Curtin, @enthused
  76. Martin Hill-Wilson, @martinhw
  77. Toni Newman, @Toni_Newman
  78. Adam Toporek, @adamtoporek
  79. Nick Kossovan, @Kossovan
  80. Greg Levin, @Greg_Levin
  81. Andrew Maher, @serviceplease20
  82. Barry Peters, @barrypeters
  83. Calie Waterhouse, @CWaterhouse
  84. Peter Lavers, @PeterLavers
  85. Jeremy Watkin, @jtwatkin
  86. Ian Jacobs, @iangjacobs
  87. Diana Oreck, @dianaoreck
  88. Ian Golding, @ijgolding
  89. Stephanie Thum, @stephaniethum
  90. Micah Solomon, @micahsolomon
  91. Myra Golden, @MyraGolden
  92. Yvonne A Jones, @YvonneAJones
  93. Bart de Craene, @bartdecraene
  94. Natasha Bishop @natasha_d_g
  95. Laura Northrup, @lnorthrup
  96. Jason Boies, @JasonBoies
  97. Donna Cutting, @donnacutting
  98. Wes Hayden, @weshayden
  99. Michael Pace, @mpace101
  100. Eric Tamblyn, @etamb

For several weeks, I asked more than 18,000 Twitter followers to recommend their top customer service pro and I am grateful for all of their suggestions. I am certain that you know many more customer service champions that deserve to be recognized. Please add your recommendations in the comments section so that we can all connect and learn from each other. Thank you.