09/20/2010 07:16 pm ET Updated May 25, 2011

Democracy For America Backs Strong Progressives In The House

With pundits predicting Democratic voters will be too apathetic to show up to the polls, Democracy for America -- the group started by former Vermont Gov. Howard Dean's campaign in 2004 -- went on the offensive Monday, endorsing 23 strong progressive Democrats for the House.

"The reality on the ground is that when you're actually in a district or a state with voters who are so enthusiastic that they're willing to volunteer and participate in the process, having a strong message and standing for something just works," DFA spokesperson Levana Layendecker told the Huffington Post.

Members of Congress in swing districts like Tom Perriello in Virginia and Mary Jo Kilroy in Ohio are rejecting the politics of the center in favor of bold progressive campaigns. That mentality has won them, as well as the likes of House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and Rep. Alan Grayson (D-Fla.), the endorsement of DFA.

Grayson, for example, hails from a district that narrowly went for Obama in 2008 and has a history of supporting Republicans. But Layendecker says she thinks Grayson will win because people "know exactly what he stands for even if they're not necessarily voters who you would assume would support him."

Grayson and the 22 other progressive candidates endorsed by DFA will be rewarded with money, media, and volunteers on the ground. Below are the full lists of all the House incumbents and candidates that the million-plus members of DFA voted to support.

Progressive House incumbents endorsed by DFA: Donna Edwards (D-Md.), Alan Grayson (D-Fla.), Raul Grijalva (D-Ariz.), Mary Jo Kilroy (D-Ohio), Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), Tom Perriello (D-Va.), Jared Polis (D-Colo.), Chellie Pingree (D-Maine), Carol Shea-Porter (D-N.H.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.).

Progressive challengers endorsed by DFA: Krystal Ball (D-Va.), Tarryl Clark (D-Minn.), Justin Coussoule (D-Ohio), Russell Edwards (D-Ga.), Joe Garcia (D-Fla.), Raj Goyle (D-Kan.), Colleen Hanabusa (D-Hawaii), Bill Hedrick (D-Calif.), Ann McLane Kuster (D-N.H.).