10/01/2012 01:19 pm ET Updated Jan 23, 2013

'Cruel Winter'? Q-Tip Teases A New G.O.O.D. Music Compilation (UPDATED)

The G.O.O.D. Music crew will follow the seasons and release a Cruel Winter follow up to their compilation -- at least if Q-Tip is to be believed.

The former member of A Tribe Called Quest decided to "let the cat out of the bag" while speaking with MTV News at the BET Hip Awards on Saturday.

UPDATE: Looks like folks spoke too soon -- sources have since confirmed that there is no "Cruel Winter" album planned. More on the story is available in our further reporting on the matter.

The original story continues below.

"If there's a Cruel Summer then there's got to be a Cruel Winter right?" Q-Tip told MTV News after attempting to explain his absence on Cruel Summer and calling fellow G.O.O.D. Music member Pusha T over for a little guidance.

"Can I say something? Am I going to get into trouble?" he asked Pusha T, though it was obviously a menial concern seeing that he shared the news anyways.

The brainchild of hit-maker Kanye West, Cruel Summer was released on September 18. The album featured 22 artists including Jay-Z, Common, 2 Chainz, Kid Kudi, Big Sean and Ma$e. Though it received lukewarm reviews, the album sold 216,000 units in its first week, enough for a No. 2 debut on the Billboard album chart.

In a YouTube video to accompany the release of the album, Kanye West celebrated the benefits of bringing such a range of artists together for the project.

"One track might have 30 people's opinions on it. It's not just about a tracklist and a name. It's about a communal style of work," he said. "The whole thing is about empowerment. We're just trying our best."

The entire Cruel Summer line-up -- complete with bios and some previous hits -- is available in the gallery below.

Cruel Summer Lineup