11/13/2012 08:58 am ET

Rory McIlroy Tops Tiger Woods To Win PGA Of America Player Of Year

By Ryan Lavner, Golf Channel

In what seems likely to be his first of several year-end awards, Rory McIlroy was named the PGA of America Player of the Year and Vardon Trophy winner on Monday.

The 23-year-old Northern Irishman won his first Player of the Year award by finishing with 100 points, while Tiger Woods, a three-time winner in 2012, was runner-up with 66 points.

McIlroy’s adjusted scoring average was 68.87, based on the 60-round minimum. Woods, however, was ineligible for the award after withdrawing during the final round of the WGC-Cadillac Championship on March 11. The incomplete round resulted in a .10 penalty, bumping his adjusted scoring average from 68.90 to 69.

Woods is the all-time leader in season-ending awards, having won 10 PGA Player of the Year awards and eight Vardon Trophies since 1997.

Other season-ending awards still be announced include the Arnold Palmer (leading money winner) and Byron Nelson (lowest adjusted scoring average) awards. 

"McIlroy wins PGA Player of Year, Vardon Trophy," by Ryan Lavner appears courtesy of Golf Channel.

Further Reading at
Tour Player, Rookie of Year ballots out
Nominees for PGA Tour Player, Rookie of the Year
Quotes of the Week: Survivorman



Tiger Woods' Greatest Shots